Sesame Soba Noodles

I bought a package of soba noodles a few months ago. Then those darn noodles just sat in my cupboard, staring back at me each and every time I went looking for a fistful of chocolate chips a healthy snack. Last night, I decided it was time. I must use those noodles right after I eat a few chocolate chips for a little soba-noodle cooking energy.

The soba noodle verdict? Delightful! 5 stars! A+!  I loved this sesame-flavored, veggie-filled soba noodle dish. I now have enough leftovers for a few lunches and a few more dinners and several midnight snacks and 3am snacks and after school snacks and maybe even one or two midmorning snacks. I could not be more pleased. Although, one could argue a strong case for eating chocolate chips for dinner if you don’t have soba noodles hanging out in your cupboard.

Sesame Soba Noodles
Source: Annie’s Eats, originally from Aggie’s Kitchen
Printable Recipe

Dressing:
1/2C reduced sodium soy sauce
2T sesame oil
2T canola oil
2T rice wine vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 green onions, chopped
1/4C cilantro, chopped
pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Salad:
1lb soba noodles, cooked according to package directions and rinsed in cold water
1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced finely
1/4 head red cabbage, shredded (about 1C)
2 carrots, shredded
1 1/2C shelled edamame, cooked
toasted sesame seeds for garnish

In a bowl, whisk together soy sauce, sesame oil, canola oil, vinegar, garlic, green onions, and cilantro.

In a serving bowl, combine cooked noodles and vegetables. Pour dressing over salad. Toss to combine. Serve cold or at room temperature. Top with toasted sesame seeds prior to serving.

Leave a comment