Truthfully Good Carrot Breakfast Scuffins

My tea greeted me with a little memo this AM.

My tea is right. I need to speak the truth.

Then a song came on the radio when I was driving to work.

In light of my new truth-telling ways, I need to talk about this song.

The song goes something like this:

wake up in the morning feeling like p-diddy

got my glasses- i’m out the door – gonna hit this city

Before I leave, brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack

Cause when I leave for the night, I ain’t coming back…

Truth: While I will admit that I find Ke$ha’s lyrics catchy, I just can’t get myself to prescribe to her morning routine. Liquor for toothpaste? My dentist already thinks my flossing skills are subpar. I can’t imagine how he would feel about this.

Truth: And how exactly does P-diddy feel when he wakes up, Ke$ha? I certainly haven’t the slightest clue. In my mind, he sleeps in a bed covered in rare furs, money, and beautiful women,  but perhaps that’s just the image he likes to maintain. For all I know, he wears flannel and sleeps in the top bunk of a rather creaky, questionably constructed bunk bed full of oversized textbooks, pencils, and socks that won’t stay on his feet while he sleeps – like me during my college days.

Sidenote: My sincerest apologies to my bottom bunk, college BFF for putting up with my sleep talking and sock tossing for all those years. I’m sorry I’m not more like P-diddy.

Truth: Unlike Ke$ha, I wake up feeling groggy and decidedly anti-P-diddy. My bedhead makes the world’s worst bedhead look good. And I stick to a classically flavored (albeit boring) mint toothpaste.

Truth: I’m ok with my morning routine. I’m even more than okay with my morning routine if it includes a delicious semi-scone, semi-muffin treat.

Scone + Muffin = Scuffin

Enter carrot cake scuffins.

 

Carrot Cake Breakfast Scuffins ( Scone + Muffin = Scuffin)
Source: Oh She Glows
Printable Recipe 

1C whole grain spelt flour (I substituted whole grain sprouted wheat flour)
1/2tsp baking powder
1/4tsp salt
1 1/2tsp pumpkin spice (or 1tsp cinnamon will work too)
1/2C old fashioned oats
1/2C pure maple syrup (or 1/4C maple syrup + 1/4C agave for a sweeter scuffin)
2T extra virgin olive oil
1tsp vanilla
1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed + 3T water mixed and set aside for 3 minutes)
1C shredded carrots (about 2 medium)
1/4C raisins
1/4C walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, rolled oats, and pumpkin spice in a bowl. In a different bowl, combine olive oil, vanilla, flax egg, and carrot. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in raisins and walnuts. Drop 1/4C full of batter onto parchment lined baking sheets. Using wet hands, shape into circle and flatten slightly. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

