Therapeutic Blogging, Therapeutic Brownies

I have a confession.

This isn’t my first blog. In fact, this isn’t my second or my third blog either. It’s like my 8th or so attempt.  But, I’m not counting.

My first real online blog was a live journal. I’m ashamed to say I too was struck by the trend in the early 2000s. Fueled by teenage hormones, anti-parent sentiment, and pre-college fear, my blog was an embarrassing array of poorly typed entries that were far too personal to be available for online reading. I only recently discovered that my live journal still existed in all of its glory. Save yourself the time. It has since been deleted.

My second blog was my first cooking blog. It was supposed to chronicle my cooking experiences in college. It lasted about a month or two. It turns out ramen noodles, pasta with jarred sauce, and pizza bagels would become my cliche’ food staples. Despite the sodium content, I survived to tell about it, but I saved anyone the horror of reading about the edible creations I lived off of during those years.

Other blogging ventures would have me attempting to chronicle my running and exercise habits, my daily life, my random thoughts — the list goes on… and on…

I’m back to food blogging. I think this time I’m going to stick with it. I know there are a billion food blogs on the internet and I don’t really think that my blog has anything all that special that other blogs don’t have.

So why keep at it?

Two words: cheap therapy.

Between the running, the cooking, and the blogging, my therapy bills are at an all-time low.

Like blogging, I think brownies have intrinsic healing properties. Brownies = more cheap therapy.

Blog or eat brownies. Or do both like me.

Brownies (Vegan) 
Source: Peas and Thank You
Printable Recipe

3/4C whole wheat pastry flour
1/3C cocoa powder
2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp salt
1C applesauce, unsweetened variety
1/2C sugar
1tsp vanilla
1/2C chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Spray an 8x8inch pan lightly with no-stick spray. In a small bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir to combine. In a different bowl, combine applesauce, sugar, and vanilla. Add wet applesauce mixture to dry mixture. Stir until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Bake at 350 for 19-22 minutes.  Allow to cool for a few minutes before cutting. Dust with powdered sugar if you want to make them extra-pretty.

Leave a Reply

