Pumpkin Spice Latte

Yes, I am also guilty. I too go to that not-so-local coffee place and purchase the infamous pumpkin spice latte when fall rolls around. I hate the fact that I love it so much. It just really is a tasty treat. The other day when the air was crisp and the leaves were blowing in the wind, I knew exactly what I needed and a pumpkin spice latte was the thing. Darn. There goes another $5 I thought to myself…. unless I make it myself…

and so I made it.

This recipe is good. Is it an exact replica of the real version? No. But it does a pretty good job of capturing the essence of the drink. I will certainly be making this again and again. Rumor has it, this recipe is even better when soy milk is used instead of regular milk. Perhaps I will try it that way next time.

Pumpkin Spice Latte 
Source: The Pastry Affair

2C milk (for extra treat- use whole or half&half)
2T pumpkin puree
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2T sugar (white or brown- your choice)
2C brewed coffee – make it strong

In a sauce pan, combine milk, pumpkin, spice, and sugar over low heat. Whisk until mixture is combined and warmed through. Whisk a ton while warming if you want some foam (and strong arms). Combine 1C milk mixture with 1C coffee. Serve with whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon if you wish.

Note: My pumpkin- milk mixture separated after a while so I ran my coffee drink through a strainer to avoid drinking pumpkin chunks.

Leave a comment