Microwave Caramel Corn

Believe it or not, I actually don’t like movies that much. In fact, if you name a movie right now, there is a good good good chance I have never seen it.

Matrix? Nope.

Inception? Nope.

Miracle on 34th St? Nope.

Die Hard, Mulan, The Shawshank Redemption? No. Yes. No.

I don’t really have a good reason as to why I don’t like watching movies, but I just don’t. Sorry. What I do like about movies is the opportunity for some snacking! Here is a simple caramel corn recipe that would go good with a movie… if your into that sort of thing. For me, it goes nice with my couch, a book, a friend, my computer…

Microwave Caramel Popcorn
Source: AllRecipes

4 quarts popped popcorn (1/2C uncooked kernels or 8C cooked popcorn)
1/2C butter
1C brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4C light corn syrup
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp baking soda

Pop that popcorn! Don’t butter or salt it. Get rid of the unpopped kernels. Throw the popcorn into a brown paper bag (sometimes I double bag because I am overcautious like that). In a microwave-safe bowl, combine butter, brown sugar, vanilla, salt, and corn syrup. Microwave on high for 2 1/2 minutes. Take it out and stir. Return to microwave for additional 1 1/2 minutes. Remove from microwave and stir in baking soda. Pour syrup over the popcorn in the bag. Roll down the top of the bag and shake, shake, shake! Place bag in the microwave and cook for 45 seconds. Remove and shake, shake, shake again! Flip the bag over and return it to the microwave. Cook for additional 45 seconds. Shake and dump onto wax paper. Let cool. Store in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

