Detox Salad

I don’t really believe in the science behind detoxifying foods so I rarely eat anything with the intention of it actually detoxifying my body.

Besides… what exactly am I detoxing away?  That pizza I enjoyed this weekend? The extra 12 cookies I ate at the last baby shower I attended? The sixteen pounds of trail mix (heavy on the chocolate chips) I ate on my last road trip? The decision to make white rice instead of brown rice earlier this week?

That being said, these so-called detoxifying salads/juices/smoothies tend to be really tasty and full of fruits, veggies, and nuts.

Detoxifying? No.

Eating delicious foods? Yes.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Detox Salad 
Source: Gimme Some Oven
Printable Recipe

For the salad:
3C chopped kale
2C chopped broccoli
2C chopped red cabbage
1C shredded carrots
3/4C chopped cilantro leaves
1/2C slivered almonds
1/3C greens onions, sliced thinly
1 avocado, diced

For the dressing:
1 carrot, peeled and chopped
1/4C rice wine vinegar
1T fresh ginger
2T vegetable oil
1T miso
1T honey (or agave if vegan)
1/2tsp sesame oil
salt, pepper

Mix together all the ingredients in a large bowl.
Place all the dressing items in a blender and pulse until smooth. Season with salt/pepper to taste.
Top salad with dressing. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

