Cumin Zucchini Salad with Pinto Beans

I thought about inserting a disgruntled statement on the excessive pumpkin spice-ing of everything at the grocery store, but I don’t want this blog to be too pessimistic.

Instead can we just be reallllllllllly, realllllllly excited that fall is here???!???!?!

The good news is that I love when the leaves turn colors and the air is cool and the apples are crisp and I can wear scarves with every outfit and I could keep on going and going, but I’m not ready this year — at least not culinary-wise. I’m still over here cranking out zucchini recipes, eating salads, and enjoying peaches like it’s early August.

Whaaaaatttt?

In fact, the story gets worse when I confess that I’m wearing sandals and shorts and tank tops and hoping my subtle leg tan doesn’t fade too much. I’m thinking about the beach and still working on my bikini bod. Basically, I’m still summer-ing over here like it we aren’t long past the 4th of July. Eeeeeeeeek.

Dear squash,
I see you over there and I’m coming for you… in a week or two. First, I need to hit up the pool one last time. Before I join the masses eating chili, soup, and all-things gourd, allow me to enjoy a few more summer-y things… like this salad, which is full of zucchini. This would make a perfect side dish, but I also liked it thrown into a tortilla shell and eaten like a taco. Yum. Yum. Yum.

fotoflexer_photo

Cumin Zucchini Salad with Pinto Beans 
Source: Naturally Ella 
Printable Recipe

2 medium zucchini, diced
1/2 medium onion, diced
1T olive oil
1 1/2tsp cumin
1/4tsp salt
1 red pepper, roasted and diced
1 (15oz) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1/3C minced cilantro
1/4C pepitas
juice of 1 lime
salt

Preheat oven to 400.
Line baking tray with parchment paper or non-stick silpat.
Place zucchini and onion on the prepped tray.
Toss with olive oil, cumin and a pinch of salt.
Roast at 400, until lightly browned. Toss halfway through to ensure even cooking.
While the onions and zucchini are cooking, toss beans, roasted red pepper, cilantro, and pepitas in a bowl.
Squeeze the juice of 1 lime over the bean mixture and stir to combine.
Allow the zucchini and onion to cool slightly.
Combine with the bean mixture.
Taste and add additional salt if needed.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

