Pesto Quinoa

A few days ago I realized that I’ve never washed my reusable grocery bags. I guess it never occurred to me to do it. I had a little panic attack when I realized how many million times I had used them without ever even contemplating cleaning them so I quickly threw my assortment of randomly colored and sponsored reusable bags in with a bunch of clothes that also needed laundering.

You’re probably thinking that the story ends here. That I’m simply reminding you… and you… and you… and you… and you to wash your reusable bags once in a blue moon.

Nope. That’s not the moral of this story. Unfortunately for me and my modesty, this story keeps going.

A few hours after I so intelligently washed those bags, I found myself in the checkout line at the grocery store. I proudly handed my freshly laundered bag to the bagger… and he promptly opened it, reached inside, and lifted a pair of my freshly laundered underwear in the air confusedly asking, “Are these yours or are we selling these?”

Consider yourself warned.

Separate your laundry carefully… and always triple-check the bottom of your reusable grocery bags after washing them.

fotoflexer_photo

Pesto Quinoa with Roasted Cauliflower 
Source: inspired by Simply Quinoa
Printable Recipe

2C cooked quinoa (~1C uncooked)
6C baby spinach
4T pesto
1/2tsp salt
1/2C parmesan cheese
1T olive oil
1/2 head of cauliflower*, cut into florets

Preheat oven to 425.
Toss cauliflower with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper.
Roast at 425 for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until cauliflower is tender and browned.
Cook quinoa according to package directions.
While quinoa is still warm, toss quinoa with pesto, salt, baby spinach, and 1/4C parmesan cheese.
Top with roasted cauliflower and remaining parmesan cheese.
Enjoy!
*Feel free to swap cauliflower for roasted bell pepper, tomatoes, or whatever else your heart desires.

Leave a Reply

