Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

 

Zucchini and I go way back… way back to my childhood when my mom’s garden inevitably overproduced the following:

  1. tomatoes
  2. zucchini

As a child who didn’t believe in eating vegetables, fruits, whole grains, or anything not coated in cheese or sugar, this was always a rough time of year for me. My mom would recommend I try the garden-fresh produce that we had so carefully watered and tended to all summer and I would throw dramatic screaming toddler rants to once-again prove that I was right and she was wrong.

Times have changed and I now find myself liking loving seasonal produce. Like all trips to the farmers market, my latest one left me with way too much. (it’s so hard to choose!)

What to do with a counter full of zucchini? Make bread and gift it to your closest friends of course.

Your friends won’t be disappointed.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread
Source: King Arthur Flour
Printable Recipe

2 eggs
1/3C honey
1/2C vegetable oil
1/2C light brown sugar
1tsp vanilla extract
1tsp salt
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp espresso powder
1/3C dutch-process cocoa
1 2/3C AP flour
2C shredded zucchini, gently pressed so some of the excess liquid is removed
1C chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.
Grease a loaf pan (8.5″ x 4.5″)
Beat eggs, honey, oil, sugar, and vanilla in a bowl until smooth. Set aside.
In a different bowl, combine salt, baking soda, baking powder, espresso powder, cocoa powder, and flour.
Add in wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir until almost combined. Then add in zucchini and chocolate chips.
Once combined, pour batter into pan.
Cook at 350 for 70-75 minutes,  until a toothpick comes out clean.
Remove from oven. Let cool for about 10 minutes and then remove from pan. Allow to cool completely.
Slice and serve!

Leave a Reply

