You Can Put Sweet Potatoes In Brownies and Still Be Cool

I put sweet potatoes in my brownies

… because Daphne Oz told me to do it.

Does that make it ok? She seems cool, right?

I went through a phase a few years ago where I was sneaking chickpeas into blondies, black beans into brownies, carrots into oatmeal… the list goes on. Then I tried a normal brownie recipe and realized that I liked it better. I’ve slowly gotten away from that trend because I’ve found that (in general) i like to eat my beans/veggies separately from my desserts.

Duh.

I like eating healthy, but I like eating unhealthy too. Sometimes, I just want to spluuuuuurrge.

This is a good in-between. The sweet potato makes it more of a dense, indulgent brownie, but they are made into mini-muffins so each one isn’t very caloric. If you’re looking for  tiny treat, eat one. If you’re looking for a sppllluuuuurrrrgggeeee, eat the whole tray. That’s pretty much what I did.

Duh.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Sweet Potato Brownie Bites
Source: Daphne Oz
Printable Recipe 

1 sweet potato
1/3C mini chocolate chips
1/3C hot coffee
2T butter, melted
2 eggs
1/2C light brown sugar
1tsp vanilla
1/2C AP flour
1/2tsp baking powder
3/4C coca powder
1/2tsp salt

Cook sweet potato on high in microwave for 5-7 minutes, until tender. Allow to cool slightly and scoop out flesh. You will need 1C total for this recipe.
Preheat the oven to 350.
In a small dish, pour hot coffee over the chocolate chips. Stir until chocolate chips are melted. Set aside.
In a large bowl, add sweet potato, butter, eggs, sugar, and vanilla. Stir in the coffee mixture.
In a different bowl (lots of bowls needed for this one – sorry!), stir flour, baking powder, cookout powder, and salt.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Stir until just barely combined.
Fill mini muffin tin about 3/4 full.
Bake at 350 for 8 minutes.
Remove and allow to cool.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

