Cherry Almond Muffins and Michigan

A recent trip to Michigan had me buying cherries at an alarming rate. Is there anything better than fresh cherries?

I think not.

Before I rave about these cherry muffins, I need to publicly thank Tim Allen for convincing me to visit pure Michigan. I usually skip commercials, but I’ve heard him rave about the beauty of Michigan one or two times now. Thanks for the suggestion, Tim!

IMG_7044

I’m resisting the temptation to post 400 additional pictures right now.

What to do with too many cherries?

Make muffins. But, not just any muffins. These are loaded with f-r-e-s-h cherries and slivered almonds. Cherries and almonds make the best duo. I searched all over the internet for the perfect recipe and I think I found it with this one.

Go buy yourself some cherries and make these.

You should also think about visiting Michigan. If you don’t trust me, listen to Tim.

PS Tim, if you’re reading this, please comment below. I’d appreciate a celebrity comment.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Cherry-Almond Muffins
Source: King Arthur Flour
Printable Recipe

1/2C butter
1C sugar
2 eggs
2C flour
1/2C milk
2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp salt
2C cherries (pitted, chopped)
1C slivered almond
1tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 375.
Cream butter and sugar.
Beat in eggs.
In a different bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and salt.
Add in dry ingredients slowly to butter-sugar mixture. Alternate with the milk. Stir in the extract. Remember less mixing is better.
Fold in the almond and cherries.
Spoon into muffin cups (makes 12-14).
Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

