I Roasted These Millet Cakes and My Fingers.

I learned a life lesson today.

If you grab a hot pan, you will burn your fingers.

(technically, I’ve been learning, relearning, and seemingly never really learning this lesson for quite a few years now)

The new thing I learned is that you should’t decide to go for a really long bike ride immediately after you’ve burned a fair number of your fingers on the hand that you use to shift gears.

Every hill was a strange battle between my legs pleading for my pained hand to downshift, and my torched hand outright refusing. In the end, my bike ride was slow and my quadriceps are overtired.

Bonus tip: I might also recommend avoiding lathering your freshly blistered digits in SPF 30. While sun protection is of utmost importance, sunscreen really burns burns.

 

Learn from my mistakes.

I spotted this recipe a few months ago and I can’t believe it took me this long to finally make it. I was missing out!

In keeping with my continued theme of poor food descriptors, this recipe was tasty. As the name suggests, it contains carrots and spinach.

Surprise! It also contains millet.

Double surprise! It also contains a hint of curry, a touch of cilantro, and is accented by a tangy yogurt sauce.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Millet Cakes with Carrots & Spinach
Source: The Complete Vegetarian Cookbook by ATK
Printable Recipe

1C millet, rinsed
2C water
salt, pepper
3tsp olive oil
1 shallot, minced
6 ounces baby spinach, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and shredded
2 cloves garlic, minced
2tsp curry powder
1/2C plain greek yogurt (divided)
1 egg, beaten
2T minced cilantro
1T lime juice
1tsp cumin
pinch of cayenne pepper

In a saucepan, combine millet, water, and a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 15 minutes, until water is absorbed and millet is tender. Remove and transfer to a bowl to cool slightly.
In a skillet, heat olive oil. Add shallots and cook until translucent and softened, about 3 minutes.
Add in shredded carrot and spinach, cooking until the spinach is wilted, about 1-2 minutes. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper.
Mix in minced garlic and curry powder. Stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
Remove mixture and add to millet. Stir to combine. Taste and add salt if needed.
Allow mixture to cool slightly.
Add in 1/4C yogurt, cilantro, and egg. Stir to combine.
Using 1/4C of mixture, form into patties. Place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
Refrigerate formed patties for 30 minutes.
Preheat oven to 350.
Transfer patties to oven.
Cook for 30-35 minutes. Flip once halfway through to ensure even cooking.
While patties are cooking, combine 1/4C greek yogurt, 1T lime juice, pinch of cayenne, and a pinch of salt. Stir to combine. You can thin the mixture with a few teaspoons of water if you desire a thinner consistency.
Remove cakes and serve with a dollop of the yogurt sauce.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

