I Smell. Also, Tex-Mex Casserole

I shampoo my hair with an almond scented concoction that reportedly volumizes my sad, flat mane. I finish my shower haircare routine by conditioning with a coconut scented mixture. I then proceed to use a cherry-blossom scented body wash with magical exfoliating powers. I prefer this aloe-scented shaving cream because it’s usually on sale. After showering, I immediately lotion up with a flowery-gardenia potion that I was gifted a few months ago.

(I don’t think ‘lotion up’ is a verb… until now! You are welcome. Go forth and lotion up.)

At this point, the combination of scents is outrageous. Fear not, I’m far from done.

My deodorant? It smells like ‘Shower Fresh.’ I’m not quite sure how to categorize this one. I suppose it smells like a fresh shower… but arguably not a rain shower. I associate rain showers with an earthy, earth-worm scent – petrichor for those in the know.

My heat-protectant hair spray? It has a pungent chemical odor that is rather unnerving, but supposedly protective against the armamentarium of straighteners, wands, crimpers, and curlers I use when battling my hair on a daily basis.

My face lotion? The bottle claims this to be unscented when in fact it has a very distinct smell. Call Cetaphil. They’re either a bunch of liars or all suffering from anosmia.

My perfume? Obviously scented.

Today, I’d like to point out the insane number of scents the average woman is sporting at any given time.  I’m currently coconut-almond-pomegranite-cherry blossom- aloe vera- mango punch – shower fresh- angel scented. I can’t lie. It’s overwhelming. I’m overwhelming. I usually blame my watery eyes and chronic sinus congestion on the outdoors, but I’m sitting here reanalyzing that theory as I type this.

I’d still argue that my current scent is markedly more tolerable than my brother during his Axe deodorant spray phase in the mid-90s. The thought alone causes me to sneeze.

Do you know what also smells?

This dish.

It smells good and tastes even better.

FotoFlexer_Photo.jpg

Tex-Mex Casserole 
Source: Oh She Glows Cookbook
Printable Recipe

Spice Blend:
1T chili powder
1 1/2tsp cumin
1tsp smoked paprika
1/2tsp cayenne pepper
1 1/4tsp salt
1/2 tsp coriander

Casserole:
1 1/2T olive oil
1 red onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 orange bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 jalapeno, seeded and diced finely
1/2C frozen corn
1 (14oz) can diced tomatoes
1C tomato puree
3C chopped kale (or spinach)
1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
3C cooked brown rice
1/2C shredded cheddar cheese (vegan cheese if desired)
Handful of tortilla chips, crushed

In a bowl, combine chili powder, cumin, paprika, cayenne, salt, and coriander.
Preheat the oven to 375. Spray a large casserole dish with non-stick spray.
Heat a large sauté pan over medium heat.
Add onion, peppers, and jalapeño. Sauté for about 7 minutes, until softened. Season with salt and pepper.
Add garlic to onion-pepper mixture. Sauté for additional 1 minutes, until fragrant and slightly softened.
Add in spice blend, corn, diced tomatoes (with juice), tomato sauce, kale, beans, and rice.
Stir for a few minutes over medium heat until combined and warmed through.
Add in 1/4C of cheese.
Taste and add additional pepper/salt if needed.
Pour mixture into prepared casserole dish.
Sprinkle crushed tortilla chips and remaining 1/4C cheese over the top. Cover with foil.
Bake at 375 for 15 minutes covered. Remove foil and bake additional 10 minutes, until slightly golden.
Remove and serve with extra chips, cheese, sour cream (or greek yogurt), avocado, salsa… or whatever else you can dream up.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

