XXIX

This weekend I will enter into the final year of my 20s.  (HBD to me!)

I’m assuming you just gasped. That’s what everyone seems to do. 30 is coming! 30 is coming!

I’m under the impression I’m supposed to be somewhat panicked at the thought of nearing 30, but I’ve chosen a different approach:

I’m welcoming it.

There is a part of me that fears getting older (and is a little bummed at the sight of each new grey hair), but there is an even bigger part of me that is very excited for what comes next. With each year of living seems to come new adventures, new challenges, and new changes — and when I think of the overall progression, it seems to be always getting better

I read an article a few months ago about a survey performed in the UK. It was a relatively unscientific study that lacked any mention of p-values or confidence intervals, but it concluded that the happiest years for most people were the later ones. Individuals in their 60s and 70s tended to state they felt more confident in who they were, appeared less stressed about challenges due to previous life experiences, and seemed less worried about where life would take them next.

Sign me up. That’s what I say.

I always try to keep discussions about work off this blog (after all this site is intended to be an escape from my day job), but I can’t discuss this topic without making any mention of my career. I entered into medicine because I was a big science nerd who was jazzed about the Kreb cycle and dissecting cow hearts in high school. True story. I’ve stuck with it for the past few years because of the thrill of it all. True story again. While the career I’ve chosen has a lot of upsides, I rarely leave a shift without being reminded of the fragility and uncertainty of life. My job serves as a constant reminder to call my grandparents more often, hug my parents a little tighter, annoy my brothers daily, cherish my amazing friends, spend less time stressing about things I can’t control, and spend more time doing things in which I find fulfillment.

With all this being said, how can I not be excited for 29? for 30? for 41?

Per usual, I’m typing too much and not getting to the point.

life is short –> each day is a gift  –> bring it on, twenty-nine.

FotoFlexer_Photo

These are everything I could ever want in a cookie – mostly sweet, a tad bit tart, super lemony, and really pretty too. Try them today. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Raspberry Lemon Cookies
Source: Coffee & Crayons 
Printable Recipe

1/2C butter, room temperature
1C sugar
1/2tsp vanilla
1 egg
zest and juice of 1 medium sized lemon
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp baking powder
1/4tsp baking soda
1 1/2C flour
3/4C frozen raspberries, chopped

Preheat oven to 350. Prep cookie sheets by lining with parchment paper.
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.
Add vanilla, egg, lemon zest, lemon juice. Mix until combined.
Add salt, baking powder and baking soda.
Add in flour, stirring until just combined.
Keep raspberries in the freezer until the very last second – remove and add them to the dough, mixing until just incorporated.
Using a tablespoon-sized cookie scoop, drop dough onto prepped cookie sheet.
Bake at 350 for 14 minutes, until just golden on the edges.
Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet.
Once completely cooled, store in an airtight container.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

