#nationaleverythingday

This is the post where I make fun of all the national days we are now apparently acknowledging and celebrating.

#nationalpuppyday

#nationalsouffleday

#nationalhonoryouroldestuncleday

#nationalactlikeamagicianatnoonday

WHEN DID THIS BECOME A THING?

I really love my siblings, but failed to acknowledge #nationalsiblingday.

I bought a black car on #nationalblackcatday, which is one letter shy of an accurate way to honor that day. I counted it.

I was at work during #nationalmargaritaday so I wasn’t able to break out the Jose Cuervo.

It’s becoming increasingly hard for me to stay on top of all these new holidays.

I need a #nationaldaytonotcelebrateanythingday

Unfortunately, I don’t know when #nationalsweetchililimetofu day is, but this recipe should be made ASAP. Don’t bother waiting for #nationaltofuday either.   I hope it was #nationaleatamealintendedtofeed4peopleinonesittingday when I made this because that’s what happened.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Sweet Chili Lime Tofu
Source: Vegan Yum Yum 
Printable Recipe

1 (14oz) block extra firm tofu
3T sugar
3T soy sauce
2T fresh lime juice
zest of 1 lime
1/2tsp red chili flakes
pinch of salt* (only if using low sodium soy sauce)
1 clove garlic, minced

Drain and press tofu to remove excess water.
Cut tofu into small cubes.
In a small bowl, whisk sugar, soy sauce, lime juice, zest, chili flakes, salt, and garlic. Set aside.
Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Add a tablespoon or two of oil of your choice. Cook the tofu in the skillet until it is browned on all sides, about 8-10 minutes. You will need to stir occasionally to ensure even cooking.
Once cooked through, turn the heat to medium-high. Add the sauce.
Cook until the sauce boils slightly and reduces – this happens rapidly (~1-2 minutes) so you will need to watch closely to avoid burning it.
Once it thickens slightly, remove from the heat and serve immediately.
I served this over quinoa and steamed broccoli.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

