That Time I Tried Teff

Frankly, I could begin all of these posts like this:

Once upon a time, I went to the grocery store on an empty stomach and bought… 

You think I’d learn my lesson one of these times and finally realize that shopping after eating would save me (and my wallet) from strange knee-jerk purchases. Ka-ching. Ka-ching. Ka-ching. Ka-ching.

This lesson has yet to be learned.

So it begins:

Once upon a time, I went to the grocery store on an empty stomach and bought…      teff.

In my defense, the packaging promised that this itsy-bitsy, brown grain would add ‘ adventure to meals.’ That may have been a bit of an exaggeration, but more on that later. Truthfully, it wasn’t a completely random purchase as I had technically read about teff a few weeks ago in an article about food trends.  Despite the fact that I’m still shamelessly wearing clothes from high school, I do stay up to date on which whole grains are in vogue.  Quinoa is so over, guys.

The claim that this ‘added adventure to my meals’ is a stretch, but it was easy to make and tasted good. This is a quick porridge recipe that is sure to please any oatmeal lover. You could argue that it would be a good thing to eat before grocery shopping, but eating before grocery shopping isn’t how I roll.

Once upon a time, I went to the grocery store on an empty stomach and bought… 

To be continued.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Teff Porridge with Apples and Dates 
Source: pbs.org
Printable Recipe

1/2C teff
1 1/2C water
1T butter (optional)
pinch of salt
6 dates, pitted and chopped
1 apple, cored and cubed
2T chopped pecans
1/2tsp cinnamon
1/4C milk or cream

Toast teff grains in a small saucepan over low heat for 3-5 minutes. You will need to stir them frequently. They start to ‘pop’ as they toast. Don’t be alarmed.
Add water, butter (optional), cinnamon, salt, and half of the dates.
Bring mixture to a boil, reduce to simmer, and cover. Cook for about 15 minutes.
Taste and adjust seasonings. If the mixture is too thick, add a bit more water.
Once teff is soft, remove from heat. Add in milk and top with apples, pecans (or walnuts), remaining dates, and dash of cinnamon. If the mixture is not sweet enough, you can add a bit of honey or maple syrup.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

