P is for Persimmon

I can’t really explain where my desire to try persimmons came from, but once the idea was in my head, I couldn’t let it go. Persimmons. Persimmons. Persimmons.

Before I gush about how amazing persimmon cookies taste and how you should have tried them years ago, please allow me to ramble about my grocery store trip to purchase the ‘fruit of the gods.’

Admittedly I had never purchased persimmons before which led to a mid-aisle google research project that had me confidently differentiating between Hachiya and Fuyu varieties like I was some sort of persimmon-expert.

“What are these called?” asked the cashier when I finally meandered to the checkout with my bag of persimmons.

“Persimmons,” I said.

“Did you say ‘Richard Simmons?'” he questioned with a serious tone and a very straight face.

I paused for a second. “Yes, yes I did.”

World, allow me to introduce you to Richard Simmons cookies.

I mean Persimmon Cookies.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Persimmon Cookies
Source: AllRecipes
Printable Recipes

3 ripe persimmons, pureed
1tsp baking soda
2C all-purpose flour
1tsp cinnamon
1/2tsp ground cloves
1/2tsp ground nutmeg
1/2tsp salt
1 egg
1C sugar
1/2C butter
1C raisins
1C chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350.
Combine persimmon puree and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.
Sift together flour, spices, and salt.
Cream butter and sugar. Add egg. Add puree.
Add in dry ingredients.
Stir in nuts and raisins.
Drop by heaping tablespoons onto a parchment linked baking sheet.
Bake for 13-15 minutes.
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

