Let’s Talk About Adele. Also, Burritos.

 

I spent the better part of my day last two weeks listening to the new Adele song on repeat.  I really should apologize to a lot of people (read: my coworkers ) who have had to endure hours of the same blissful 4min 55 seconds of soulful singing on repeat for days on end… but the only way I can think to adequately apologize is via song.

singing “HELLLOOOO FROM THE OTHERRR SIDDEEEE… I MUST’VE CALLED A THOUSAND TIIIMMMES… TO TELL YOU I”M SORRY, FOR EVERYTHING THAT I’VE DONE…” 

Eeek.

Now seems like a good time to mention that I am listening to that Adele song as I write this. And if I’m going to be completely honest, I was listening to that Adele song when I made these burritos.

Let’s talk about burritos for a quick second because I think they are simultaneously among the most delicious and the least photographic items on the planet. I take about 5-10 photos of any food that I intend to blog about before realizing I just want to eat and stop photographing. Sometimes this strategy backfires and I’m left with 5-10 terrible photos.

Case in point:
FotoFlexer_Photo

Don’t fret.

If this picture doesn’t satisfy your soul, I know something that will.

Sing it, Adele. 

*This post was not sponsored by Adele

Pinto Bean and Swiss Chard Baked Burritos
Source: America’s Test Kitchen Complete Vegetarian Cookbook via Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe 

3/4C brown rice
2 1/4C veggie broth
6 cloves garlic, minced
1tsp kosher salt
1/4C minced cilantro (fresh)
1T vegetable oil
1 onion, diced
3T tomato paste
1tsp minced chipotle chili in adobo sauce*
1T cumin
1tsp oregano
1lb swiss chard,  stems removed and sliced into thin strips
1 (15oz) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
juice of 1 lime
6-8 10-inch flour tortillas
2 1/2C shredded Monterey jack cheese

Combine 1 1/2C broth, 3/4C rice, half of the garlic, and a pinch of salt in a pot. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cover. Cook for 45 minutes, or until rice is cooked through. Once tender, remove and let cool slightly. Add chopped cilantro and set aside.

In a large pot, saute onion until translucent in oil over medium heat.
Add in tomato past, chipotle (may need more if you like it spicy), cumin, oregano, remaining garlic, and a pinch of salt. Cook for 1 minute, stirring.
Add 1/2C broth and stir in the chard.
Cover and simmer the mixture until the chard is tender, about 10-12 minutes.

In a small bowl, mash the beans with the remaining 1/4C broth. The original recipe recommends mashing half of the beans and leaving the remaining beans whole. You decide.

Add the bean mixture to the chard mixture. Stir to incorporate. Cook until liquid is nearly evaporated. Remove from heat and add juice of 1 lime.

Heat broiler and adjust oven rack so it is about 6 inches below the heating element.

To the center of each burrito, add rice, chard mixture, and 1/4-1/2C cheese. Wrap them up and place them seam side down on a baking sheet.

Once all of the burritos are wrapped, sprinkle the tops with remaining cheese.

Broil until cheese on top has started to melt, about 3 minutes.

Serve with toppings of choice. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

