Baked Peach Oatmeal

I sarcastically jump on a lot of trends. It’s how I got really into Facebook… and instagram… and hashtags… and emojis. It’s also the reason I just ‘snapchatted’ a really blurry photo of myself to my friend for no good reason. What starts out as a cute little joke becomes a habit.  #seewhatImean #whyareweevendoingthis #itissoweird

I really hope this explains how I became so invested in pogs in the mid-90s although I think that my 9 year old self just really liked collecting cardboard circles. I don’t think I ever did anything with pogs except yell at my infant brother for chewing and bending the edges. Much to my dismay, they made great teething rings.

I worry sometimes I am going to reflect back on my current texts, the ones flooded with weird smily faces, tree leaves, and small animals, and shudder. Why am I texting my boss this little sheep picture along with the reason I’m going to miss the meeting? (Answer: a statement about being sheepish requires a sheep emoji — did I mention that I am very professional?? )

I don’t think my 1995 self really worried about the longterm effects of jumping on trends, and I guess my current self won’t either.

#trendsareweird

#butsometimesfun

insert emoji of choice — maybe a peach?

FotoFlexer_Photo

Baked Peach and Almond Oatmeal
Source: The Washingtonian 
Printable Recipe 

2C old-fashioned, rolled oats
1/4C brown sugar
1/2tsp salt
1tsp baking powder
1tsp cinnamon
1/2C almonds (sliced or chopped)
2C milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
1 egg
1tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2C chopped fresh peaches + a few slices for topping

Preheat oven to 350.
Spray 8×8 baking dish with no-stick spray and set aside.
In a bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, and almonds.
In a different bowl, whisk milk, egg, and vanilla extract.  Combine this mixture with the oats.
Arrange the chopped peaches in the bottom of the baking dish.
Pour the oat mixture over the chopped peaches. Place sliced peaches on top.
Bake at 350 for 40 minutes, or until the mixture is set.
Serve warm.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Baked Peach Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

