Footloose

It’s days like the one pictured below that I wonder if I’ve overextended myself. Have I taken on too much? Am I not getting enough sleep? Have I bitten off more than I can chew?

FullSizeRender

Talk about starting your day off on the wrong foot.

I really had to watch my step that day.

My sole hurt when I realized what had happened.

Yes, I managed to make it all the way to work before realizing that the two shoes that I’d chosen to adorn my feet were far from matching. The potential for jokes is high on this one, but I can knot keep going. I have cookies to talk about.

If you’ve been mourning the end of the Girl Scout cookie season, these cookies are perfect for you. If you’ve had to endure an entire day of work wearing mismatched shoes, these cookies are also for you. If you’ve just spent a portion of your day thinking of shoe puns, these cookies are for you too. If you hate cookies, I  don’t know how to help you.

FotoFlexer_Photo
Samoa Cookie Bars
Source: Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe

1C unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2C sugar
2C AP flour
1/4tsp baking powder
1/2tsp salt
2T milk
1/2tsp vanilla
4 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped

For the topping:
11oz caramels
3T milk
pinch of salt
1/2tsp coconut extract (optional)
2C sweetened coconut, toasted
3oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped

Preheat oven to 350.
Line 9×9 pan with parchment paper.
Beat butter and sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes.
Add flour, baking powder, salt and mix until all combined.
Add milk and vanilla. Blend for a few seconds until combined.
Press dough into prepared pan.
Bake for 22-24 minutes, until golden brown. Remove and let cool completely.
In a bowl, heat chocolate in 30second intervals until melted.
Spread melted chocolate onto a piece of parchment (make it about 9×9). Place cooled shortbread onto melted chocolate and allow it to coat the bottom. I placed mine back into 9×9 pan and returned it to the fridge to set.
While the shortbread it cooling, combine caramels and milk in a microwave safe bowl. Heat in 30 second intervals, stirring in between.
Once the mixture is smooth and melted, add in salt, coconut extract, and coconut.
Spread mixture over the cooled shortbread.
Melt the remaining chocolate and drizzle over the top.
Return to fridge to cool and harden.
These are best when they are cut and served cold. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

