The Case for Doing Laundry in your Birthday Suit

DSC_0343

Doing laundry makes me angry.

It isn’t just the inevitable missing sock… or the fact that I religiously forget to check my pockets for pens before washing…or the fact that the dryer takes 2 (and sometimes 3 cycles) to actually dry things completely…

No, it isn’t really any of those things.

There is a certain feeling that comes with finishing laundry, a sense of accomplishment that can’t really be adequately portrayed with words. And just as I am folding the last sheet, hanging the last shirt, and burning the last un-matched sock, I notice that I’m wearing clothes… clothes that will need to be washed.

Sadness sinks in rapidly as I realize that I’m not technically done with my laundry in that moment nor will I ever truly be done with the laundry.

My empty laundry basket isn’t really empty, nor will it ever be.

Solution #1: do laundry naked

I’ve never done this and I’m not really even saying you should do this, but it is the one easy solution to my above complaint.  Think on it.

 

FotoFlexer_Photo

Roasted Cauliflower and Chickpea Tacos 
Source: Two Peas & Their Pod
Printable Recipe 

2tsp chili powder
1tsp cumin
1/2tsp garlic powder
1/2tsp onion powder
1tsp salt
1T lime juice (fresh squeezed)
1T olive oil
1T water
1 (15oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 head cauliflower, cored and cut into florets
tortillas
1C red cabbage, sliced fine
1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
cilantro
1 avocado, diced

For the yogurt sauce:
1C plain greek yogurt
juice of 1 lime
1/4C chopped cilantro
salt, pepper

Preheat oven to 400.
In a bowl, combine chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, salt, lime juice, olive oil, and water.
Add in chickpeas and cauliflower. Stir until combined.
Pour mixture onto a baking sheet.
Roast at 400 for 30 minutes, stirring a few times to ensure even cooking.
To make the sauce: combine yogurt, lime juice, cilantro and a pinch of salt/pepper. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.
Fill taco shells with cauliflower mix, red cabbage, jalapeño, avocado, cilantro, and the yogurt sauce.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

