That Time I Purchased Face Dirt

I’m usually not one to hop on miracle fixes, lotions, potions, or as-seen-on-TV cure-alls; however, a discussion at work began regarding a reported ‘life-changing’ face mask. Their words, not mine. After a few minutes of conversation and a quick google review search, I decided I was on board. I needed the secret clay in my life and mostly on my face.

Now, you may be reading this and wondering why I am droning on and on about a product that is literally an $8 tub of dirt available for purchase on Amazon. You read that correctly. They will ship you dirt overnight if you need it. You read it correct again. I paid $8 and totally knew I was buying dirt. You read that right again again, I am a dirt purchaser. I’m still trying to rationalize this purchase. Certainly a life-changer is worth $8. Right?

You probably assumed in reading this food blog, I would be mentioning food. Unfortunately, I decided to slather my face in this secret clay right before I started typing. The pain, tightening, and burning of my face is incredibly distracting, all-consuming, and a bit concerning. Hence, the lengthy mention of this product.

This isn’t meant as a review or a sponsored post, but merely a mention of the time I spent $8 for a jar of dirt.

This is the part of the story where I should probably include a picture of my clay-covered face, but I think that would be getting too far from my blog theme… which is actually food.

Food.

Clay.

Dirt.

Food grows in dirt sometimes, and it tastes better than clay.

(a good writer understands the importance of seamless transitions)

This soup pretty much rocks and it comes together in a snap. I know we are starting (maybe, possibly) to get out of ‘soup season,’ but I think this is light enough to be enjoyed year-round.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Loaded Veggie Nacho Soup
Source: Minimalist Baker 
Printable Recipe 

1T olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1tsp cumin
1tsp chili powder
salt, pepper
1 can tomato paste
2 1/2C water
2C veggie broth
1C salsa (fresh is preferable)
1 (4oz) can diced green chilis
2 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
Toppings: tortilla chips, onion, avocado, cheese, etc.

Heat pot over medium heat.
Saute onion until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.
Add cumin, chili powder, and a pinch of salt and pepper.
Add tomato paste, water, broth, chilis and salsa.
Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Cook for 20 minutes stirring occasionally.
Add black beans. Cook for additional 10 minutes.
Taste and add additional seasonings if needed.
Serve with toppings of choice.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

