Minestrone Soup

I’m relatively sure that you can’t have too many soup recipes. I already have a few alternate variations on minestrone in my repertoire, but I don’t think it’s a crime to add another winner to the mix.

I always feel compelled to use impressive descriptive terms to tell you just how fantastic these recipes I’m mentioning taste. However, when I try to type the words, I’m horrified by my lack of diction. I’m left with lackluster descriptors like ‘amazeballs’ and ‘fantastic’ and ‘great’ and ‘delish.’ Alas, I revert to adding the ending ‘-ish’ and ‘-oey’ to words in order to enhance the explanation. I’m trying. I swear.

Here goes:

This soup is ultra amazeballs. Tomato-ey goodness chock full of veggies, beans, and noodles that will likely knock your socks off. Top with cheese and basil … it’s perfection in a bowl.

Shakes head. Googles ‘synonyms for amazeballs.’ 

I’ll work on it, friends. I promise.
FotoFlexer_Photo

Minestrone Soup
Source: Ellie Krieger via Food Network
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
1 large onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 stalks celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
1 1/2C green beans, trimmed and cut into 1/2″ pieces
1tsp dried oregano
1tsp dried basil
salt, pepper
1 (28oz) can diced tomatoes
1 (14oz) can crushed tomatoes
6C vegetable (or chicken) broth
1 (15oz) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1C elbow pasta
parmesan cheese
2T chopped fresh basil

Heat olive oil in a large pot.
Add onion and cook until translucent, about 3 minutes.
Add garlic and cook additional 30 seconds, until fragrant.
Add celery and carrot. Cook until softened, about 5-6 minutes. Stir occasionally to avoid burning.
Add seasonings (oregano, basil, 3/4tsp salt, pinch of pepper) and green beans. Cook for additional 3 minutes.
Add in tomatoes and broth. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 15 minutes.
Taste and adjust seasonings.
Add in kidney beans and pasta. Cook until pasta is al dente (check package directions).
Garnish with parmesan and basil.
Enjoy!

Tip: The noodles ended up getting soggy (especially on day 2) so you might want to consider cooking noodles separately and adding them just before serving.

Leave a Reply

