Cauliflower Quesadillas

I feel wordless right now, which is unfortunate given the fact that I have an open slot in my schedule that could be filled with typing glorious words for your very eyes.

I’m falling short. Real short.

Instead, I’ve spent the last 30 minutes researching the best brown flats for spring… because I’ve got a shoe problem on my hands. Actually, on my feet. But not on my feet, because that’s the problem. You still following?

I’d share the results, but my extensive data gathering garnered only inconclusive results, which leads me to one of my main points.

What cheap, amazing, comfortable, and heel-less shoes should I be purchasing?

Speaking of shoes, let’s talk about cauliflower. Nothing says food blog like a poorly worded statement regarding a shoe problem followed by a semi-strange but insanely delicious recipe for cauliflower quesadillas.

Did you say cauliflower and quesadillas in the same sentence? 

Yes. Yes, I did.

I did a major eye roll at this recipe just before I decided I would try it and a few hours short of realizing that these were pretty close to the most amazing things ever. I’m not even exaggerating. I guess I could be really philosophical and mention something about not being judgmental about the covers of books or whatnot, but that might be too deep for this brown-shoe, cauliflower-quesadilla rambling.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Charred Cauliflower Quesadillas 
Source: Smitten Kitchen 
Printable Recipe

For the quesadilla:
1 poblano chili
1 head cauliflower, cut into 1″ pieces
salt, pepper
Olive oil
3 green onions, sliced thinly
1T fresh lime juice
2C shredded monterey jack cheese
flour tortillas

For the dipping sauce:
1/2C greek yogurt (or sour cream)
zest of 1/2 lime
1T fresh lime juice
1/2tsp cumin
pinch of salt

For the quesadilla:
Roast poblano until skin is charred under broiler or directly over gas burner.
Once skin blackened, remove from heat and place into a bowl. Cover with foil and allow to steam as it cools down. Once cool enough to touch, remove the seeds and peel off the skin. Cut into 1/4″ strips and set aside.
Toss 3T olive oil with cauliflower pieces.
Heat large size skillet over medium heat and add cauliflower. Cook until charred and tender, about 10 minutes. Stir occasionally to ensure even cooking.
In a bowl, combine cauliflower, poblano pepers, lime juice, green onions, and a pinch of salt.
Assemble quesadillas by placing 1/3C cauliflower mixture and 1/3C cheese between 2 tortillas.
Cook tortillas on heated pan/skillet brushed with olive oil.
Remove from heat once both sides are browned and the cheese is melted.
Serve with dipping sauce or alternate toppings of choice.
Enjoy!

For the dipping sauce:
Combine ingredients.
Taste and adjust seasonings.

Leave a Reply

