Not Quite Fried Pickles

DSC_0115

Guys, I’m in a real pickle over here.

I mean like face-first in a pickle … if that makes sense? Never mind. There is definitely a joke in here somewhere, but I’m struggling with the words.

I think I’ve previously mentioned my love of pickled foods, and no, this isn’t a pregnancy announcement. I’ve seen ‘fried pickles’ on menus for a long time, but I’ve never tried them. CANUEVENBELIEVEIT?

When I saw this recipe for baked ‘fried’ pickles my heart started to beat faster. That’s what happens when I see a recipe that I need to try.  Not even dramatizing. And yes, this is the reason I have to limit my time on pinterest. Major heart strain.

Don’t get me wrong – I love fried food (looking at you, french fries), but I don’t like frying at home. While I certainly have always envisioned meeting my one true (fireman) love in a dramatic rescue effort, the dream never involved a self-created fried pickle grease fire. Nope. Nope. Nope.

Baked-not-fried? Pickles?

I was in and not just for the safety reasons.

These are super salty in a perfectly crispy, and vinegar-y way. You could eat them on there own, but they are bolstered even more by a quick dip in ranch dressing.

Gourmet? No.

Superb? Yes.FotoFlexer_Photo

Oven Baked Fried Pickles 
Source: Food.com
Printable Recipe

1 (24oz) jar sliced pickles
2 eggs
1/3C flour
1T worcestershire sauce
1tsp hot sauce
1tsp garlic powder
large pinch of cayenne pepper
1 1/2C panko breadcrumbs
ranch dressing (optional)

Turn oven broiler on.
Whisk together eggs, flour, worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, garlic powder, cayenne pepper. Set aside.
Place panko into a shallow dish.
Drain pickles and pat dry.
Place each pickle into the egg mixture and then coat with panko.
Place pickle slices onto a lined baking sheet.
Broil on high for about 3 minutes per side, turning once golden brown.
Serve with ranch dressing.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

