Resolutions

Resolutions. Schmesolutions. That’s what I say.

Just about every year, I panic at around 1154pm (that is 2354 for those who prefer military time)  and start to quickly create a mental list of the 4500 things that I’m going to change when the new year hits.

Exercise every day.  Exercise several times per week.

Run faster.  Try to run faster.

Take a multivitamin every day. Consider remembering to take a multivitamin once per week.

Drink more water. Drink less coffee.

Eat healthier. Eat more vegetables and fruits.  Eat more chocolate because dark chocolate is healthy.

Call my grandparents more often. No excuses.

Go to bed earlier. No. No. No. I will not.

This year, my resolution is to avoid making any resolutions. Is that a resolution? Did I already mess up on my resolution? Ugh.

Sure, I’ll cross my fingers, toes, and nose that this will be year that I finally quit coffee, worry less, travel the world, vacuum the inside of my car, and remember to make my bed every morning. But, let’s be real. Tonight, I’m going to eat too much food, drink a glass of wine, and cheers to another year gone and another year ahead.

Happy New Year!

FotoFlexer_Photo

Garbanzo Bean and Chickpea Soup
Source:  Oprah.com
Printable Recipe 

1 sweet onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
8C vegetable broth
2 (15oz) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes
1tsp dried basil
1/2tsp ground cumin
1/2tsp salt
1/4 to 1/2tsp red pepper flakes (depending on love of spice)
pinch of black pepper
1 (16oz) package fresh baby spinach
optional: parmesan cheese

In a large pot, saute onions until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute longer. Add broth, beans, tomatoes (with juices), basil, cumin, red pepper flakes, black pepper. Cook for 30-45 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings.
Optional step: Use an immersion blender to blend soup slightly. We liked it best when it was slightly blended to break up some of the beans and tomatoes.
Once cooked, add spinach and cook for a few minutes until spinach is wilted.
Serve with bread or parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

