Merry Christmas

DSC_0017

I was going to record myself singing a few of my favorite Christmas songs and post them today, but I’ve opted for a different sort of holiday themed post. This is not to say that my version of Celine Dion’s ‘Oh Holy Night’ isn’t worthy, but I think I’ll save it for another day. I’m still working on that really long note at the end.

I’m a little more teary eyed this time of year, and I think it’s more than the snowy subzero winds pelting my face. Yes, I like the cookies, the cakes, and the lavish dinners that always encourage me to eat salads in January. I’m a sucker for a well-decorated house and a tastefully garnished tree. And when I say ‘tasteful,’ I mean tinsel, garland, popcorn strands, lights, more lights, ornaments, more ornaments, streamers, those ornaments you made for your mom when you were four, and a crooked star to finish the look. I like a good gift and appreciate a well wrapped package with a sparkly bow on top. I will even go so far as to admit that I like the snow and I listen to Mariah Carey’s song, “All I Want for Christmas” more than once this time of year.

But mostly what I love, aside from the icy roads and salt stains on my pants, is the reminder of just how very blessed I am. There is something about swapping Christmas cards and singing fa-la-la-la-la-la together that makes me feel warm and fuzzy… and it’s not just the rum spiked eggnog and oversized holiday sweater talking.

Merry Christmas to my family, my friends, my friends who are family, and my family who are just friends!

(kidding on that last part)

And to all a goodnight.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Peppermint Bark Cookies 
Source: Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe

For the cookies: 

  • 1 1/2C flour
  • 2/3C Dutch-process cocoa
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4C butter, room temperature (12T)
  • 1 1/2C powdered sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp peppermint extract
  • 1/2tsp vanilla extract

For the topping: 

  • 6oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 10oz white chocolate, chopped
  • Crushed candy canes

    To make the cookies: 

    • Combine flour, cocoa, and salt. Set aside.
    • Beat butter and sugar until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add in egg and extracts.
    • Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until just incorporated. Cover and refrigerate until firm (at least 2 hours).
    • Preheat oven to 325.
    • Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silpat mat.
    • Roll dough to 1/4″ thickness using flour to avoid sticking.
    • Cut 3″ rounds (using a cookie cutter, a biscuit cutter, or a drinking glass).
    • Bake at 325 for 10-12 minutes. Let cool on baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

    For the topping:

    • Line baking sheet or wire racks with wax paper.
    • Melt bittersweet chocolate over double boiler.
    • Dip the bottom (the flat side) of each cookie into the chocolate. Use a spatula or knife to scrape off excess. Place chocolate side up onto baking sheets. Once you have completed this step with each cookie, refrigerate until hardened.
    • Melt the white chocolate using a boiler set up. On the opposite side of the cookie (aka the top half – the side you didn’t cover in bittersweet chocolate) , swirl a small amount of white chocolate on top. Sprinkle a few peppermint crushed candy on top. Transfer to the refrigerator to cool.
    • Enjoy!
    One thought on “Merry Christmas

    Leave a Reply

    