I Don’t Like Uncooked Tomatoes That Much

If you’d have told me 15 years ago that I would have spent my morning enjoying a slice of broccoli-cheese quiche, I’d have called you a liar. I may have even called you a liar with your pants on fire hanging on the top of a telephone wire because I was that kind of kid growing up.

I was a picky, picky eater as a little babe. I used to scoff at most vegetables, most meats, many fruits, and even the whole grain variety of most breads, but slowly over the years I just learned to like more and more things. A few years ago, I would have never ever ever touched brussel sprouts…. or cauliflower… or black beans… or clementines… or cranberries… or pumpernickel bread… or quiche…

I still can’t get behind grape tomatoes. Maybe that’ll come when I’m 30.

I’m getting way off topic, but I was trying to steer us toward the mention of a recipe that contains a whole slew of ingredients that would have destroyed my 4 year old self.

It’s a 2 recipe kind of day:

1) Sweet potatoes + rice + spices + peppers + beans + cheese all hanging out together in a sauté pan for a few minutes to create an ultra comforting and flavorful quick dinner. CLICK HERE FOR RECIPE.

FotoFlexer_Photo

2)  This recipe is similar in that it also contains black beans… and chili powder.. and peppers… and you can be cool and serve it right in the squash. I know you want to be cool, right?

FotoFlexer_Photo

Spicy Spaghetti Squash with Black Beans
Source: Whole Foods 
Printable Recipe

1 spaghetti squash, halved and seeded
2tsp olive oil
1 small red onion, chopped
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1C black beans
1/2C frozen corn
1tsp chili powder
1/3C fresh cilantro, chopped
1tsp salt
1T lime juice, fresh squeezed

Preheat oven to 375. Place squash, cut side down, onto a large baking dish. Pour 1/2C water into the dish.
Bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes, until tender. Once cooked, remove from oven. Allow to cool slightly so that you can scrape the inside of the squash out. Set cooked squash aside. Save the squash shells for serving if desired.
Heat oil in a large skillet. Add onion, jalapeño, and bell pepper. Cook until onion is translucent and peppers are softened, about 3-4 minutes. Add beans, corn, and chili powder. Cook until corn warmed through, about 1-2 minutes.
Add squash, cilantro, lime juice, and salt. Stir to combine and remove from heat.
If desired, arrange in the hollowed out squash to serve.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

