A Visit with Hashtags #hashtag

I used to joke about hashtags, but now I’m really into them. #totally #really #sarcastically #butreally

I downloaded the new taylor swift CD (#1989) about a week ago, and have subsequently listened to it 76 times. #nojoke At what point do you have a diagnosable problem? I might be there.  #dontanswerthat #blankspaceisthebestsongever

Aside from singing songs out loud with T Swift, I also had a little visit from some of my favorite people… my mom and 2/3 of my brothers. #theyarethebest They traveled on a plane to come visit me, and we had the best time ever.  #ever

First, we tried indoor skydiving. #isaidindoor #imnotthatdaring

It is a way expensive experience, but I would argue that it was worth it. Watching my mom strap on a helmet, jump into a wind tunnel, and fly up into the air was hilarious. It also finally gave some weight to my mom’s argument that she is actually a cool mom. #juryisstilloutondad #coolmomstatus

IMG_3123

Total cool mom status.

We ate at a delicious pizza place #pizzapizza that night after exploring a local museum and climbing on some old army tanks. Please take note of my brother showing you his #perfect pushup form. #16yearoldsaresuchshowoffs

IMG_3133

The next day, we woke up early (#actually9ambutstill) and went into the city. As someone who lives in the suburbs of Chicago, I don’t visit the city enough and I am always reminded of how amazing it is when I go there. We decided to go to the Field museum because it was freezing cold outside. #brrrr

IMG_3157

We ate out again. #dontjudge #ihadasalad #noididnt We finished the night doing what I love the most – hanging out together, telling stories, and laughing. #warmfuzzyfamilystories #andintenseboardgameplaying #itotallywon

Then, they left 😦

So, I did what pretend chefs do … cook!  And this dish was among the things I made… and well… it is amazing. It also looks pretty, which should count for something too.

FotoFlexer_Photo

It’s sweet butternut squash combined with tangy blue cheese, orzo, and spinach. #soseasonal #sodelicious

#tryit

#hashtag

Orzo with Butternut Squash, Spinach, and Blue Cheese
Source: The Kitchn
Printable Recipe

2 1/2C butternut squash, cubed (1/2″ pieces or smaller)
1T olive oil
salt, pepper
1C orzo
2C baby spinach
2T olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/3C blue cheese crumbles

Preheat oven to 425. On a baking sheet, combine 1T olive oil and squash. Season with salt and pepper. Roast for 35 minutes, until tender and browned.
In a small skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Ad garlic and remove from heat. The oil should be warm, but not hot. You want to essentially make a flavored olive oil, which won’t taste good if you burn the garlic.
Cook orzo until al dente. Drain water and pour in a bowl. Immediately add spinach and stir, allowing the spinach to wilt.
Add the flavored garlic oil, blue cheese, and butternut squash.
Taste and adjust seasonings.
Serve warm.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

