November

I’m just going to start every post with a statement that says, “how on earth is it already __(insert date)___?”

Time is flying so fast and I feel like every month comes as a shock to my system. November? Realllllly?

I’m supposed to be cleaning because my mom (hi mom!) is coming to visit, but I find myself perusing the internet. The internet is sooooo distracting. This means I’m really up-to-date on your latest instagrams, snapchats, and Facebook updates, but my bedroom floor is still covered in this weeks rejected clothing options.  I would just bundle up the mess into a garbage bag and put it in my closet, but my mom knows about that particular trick of mine. I wasn’t nicknamed ‘the bag lady’ as a child for nothing. I wish I was joking about that.

My obsession with cauliflower only seems to be growing stronger with time. I had a lengthy conversation regarding its many uses at work the other day. I think my coworkers think I’m cool…

It turns out cauliflower can be used as a couscous substitute.

Did you say cauliflower?

Yes, I did.

You can bet I was alllllll over this recipe. Cauliflower magic… again.

Let me leave you with one final question:

What can’t cauliflower do?

FotoFlexer_Photo

Mediterranean Cauliflower Couscous Salad with Roasted Chickpeas & Lemon Dressing
Source: The Kitchn
Printable Recipe

For the chickpeas:
1 (15oz) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1/2tsp cumin
1/8tsp cayenne pepper
1/2tsp salt
1T olive oil

For the dressing:
2T lemon juice, fresh-squeezed
1/2tsp dijon mustard
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2tsp salt
4T olive oil

For the salad:
1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
1C cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
1/2 small red onion, minced
1/3C kalamata olives, chopped fine
1 English cucumber, chopped fine
1/3C pine nuts
1/4tsp red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400.
Combine chickpeas with cumin, cayenne, salt, and oil. Lay onto a parchment-lined baking sheet.
Bake at 400 until crisp and browned, about 35 minutes. You will need to stir the chickpeas a few times in order to allow for even cooking.
While the chickpeas are roasting, combine lemon juice, mustard, garlic, and salt. While whisking, drizzle in the olive oil. Taste and add more salt if needed. Set aside.
Place cauliflower in the food processor. Pulse until the mixture is a fine, couscous texture.
In a large bowl, combine tomatoes, onion, olives, cucumber, parsley, pine nuts, red pepper flaks, and couscous. Toss with dressing and top with chickpeas.
Enjoy!

One thought on “November

Leave a Reply

