Obligatory Halloween Post

Halloween 1

I was going to give you a little taste of my previous Halloween costumes today, but I only have a few pictures on my computer. I’m sure they are saved on a flash drive or shoved into a photo box somewhere, but for now this list will have to suffice.

To date, I’ve dressed up as:

a) a clown
b) a ballerina
c) a witch
d) a scarecrow
e) a spider web
f) a barbie doll (a singing rock-n-roll version)
g) a nerd
h) a crayon
i) a stoplight
j) a present
k) a cereal killer
l) a veterinarian
m) a witch again

Wow. I’m sure I’ve missed a few (mom, are you reading?), but it makes me feel a bit old to list all of these here. How many Halloweens have I celebrated?

(27. The answer is 27.)

DSC_0738

For us Midwest kids, Halloween was often as much about the costume as it was about trying to figure out how to get your costume to fit over your winter coat and snow pants. October 31st snowstorms exist, people. I remember a lot of Halloweens spent freezing in my costume, but that never stopped me from going to every house in the neighborhood. Candy = priority.

This year, I’ll be at work on Halloween, but that won’t stop me from eating candy. Duh! I’ve made this recipe no less than 3 times in the past 2 weeks and it is AMAZING. It’s chewy and sweet and apple-icious in a way that I can’t describe in words. It is by far the best flavored caramel I have ever eaten, which is saying something because I love caramel.
Happy Halloween!
FotoFlexer_Photo

Apple Cider Caramels
Source: Smitten Kitchen
Printable Recipe

4C apple cider
1/2tsp cinnamon
1tsp salt
1/2C unsalted butter
1C sugar
1/2C brown sugar
1/3C heavy cream

In a large saucepan, reduce the cider down to 1/2C. This will the a long time – like 30 minutes over medium-high heat. Stir the mixture occasionally.
While the cider is reducing, mix together the salt and cinnamon in a small bowl. Set aside.
Line a 8×8″ pan with parchment paper. Set aside.
Once the cider has reduced, stir in butter, sugar, brown sugar, and cream. Attach a candy thermometer to the pan.
Over medium-high heat, cook the mixture until it has reached 252. You will want to watch it carefully – it only takes a few minutes.
Once it has reached 252, remove from heat and stir in cinnamon-salt mixture. Pour into prepared pan.
Allow mixture to cool completely, about 2 hours.
Once firm, use a sharp knife to cut into squares. I stuck my pan into the refrigerator for a few hours to ease in the slicing project.
Wrap each caramel in waxed paper.
Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

