Pumpkin Chili

Please excuse everything I’m about to write. I just slept from 515AM to 830AM. Without any alarm clock ringing or obvious interruption, I have awoken (awoke, awaked??) and I can’t fall back asleep.

Can’t sleep = blog time.

We are only a handful of days away from Halloween, which means I probably should have posted at least 2 or 3 apple, pumpkin, or squash recipes. I’m way behind and when I say that I’m being serious. I’m still wearing white pants and awaiting the 4th of July. How did it get to be late October?

My mom first told me about this recipe a few weeks ago when I mentioned that I needed a recipe that contained pumpkin for a potluck dinner. I’ve got a million cookbooks, but my mom is always my go-to for recipes. #momknowsbest

This recipe is a hearty turkey chili made spicy with jalapeños, smoky with the addition of cumin, and made seasonal with a can of pumpkin. Don’t be discouraged by the pumpkin – it melts into the background and creates a great hearty chili, but isn’t going to make you feel like you’re eating a liquified pumpkin pie with beans… which was my initial fear.  I’m sorry I just gave you that horrifying visual. There are reasons my blog hasn’t gone viral.

I know I usually stick to veggie recipes, but the original recipe calls for ground turkey on this one. I made it that way for the potluck last weekend and it was a hit. I did make it again, subbing the turkey for an extra 2 cans of beans (kidney and black) and an additional green bell pepper. It was good that way too. You decide.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Pumpkin Turkey Chili
Source: Whole Foods
Printable Recipe

2T olive oil
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 green bell peppers, seeded and chopped
2 jalapeños, seeded and minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1lb ground white turkey meat (or add 2 extra cans of beans)
1 (14.5oz) can diced tomatoes
1 (15oz) can pumpkin puree
1C low sodium vegetable broth
2T chili powder
1T cumin
1/2tsp salt
ground black pepper
1 (15oz) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

In a large pot, heat oil.
Add onion, bell pepper, and jalapeños. Cook until onions are translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and cook for additional 30 seconds.
Add ground turkey and cook until browned, breaking it up as you cook it.
Add tomatoes, pumpkin, water, chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.
Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.
Stir in beans.
Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Taste. Adjust seasonings.
Serve with sour cream, green onions, or cheese as desired.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

