Spinach Wraps

I was quite the crafter as a youngster, and I mean that in a big way. I used to watch the Carol Duvall show and drool (yes, drool) over all of the impressive crafting. I’d save up my spare pennies and head over to the local craft store (aptly named Rainbow Variety) buying an assortment of embroidery floss, fat quarters of a multitude of fabrics, and little, teensy seed beads.

I was more of a creative crafter, one who enjoyed mixed media art because I usually couldn’t afford all of the items necessary for the actual craft I had seen on TV. Improvisation and utilization of household items became my norm. My BFF at the time would come over and we would craft together for hours. I’ve made (or at least attempted to make) a wide variety of crafts, and I’m proud to say that I’ve actually broken not 1, but two vacuum cleaners while crafting. Seed beads and vacuums don’t mix… at least 90s (pre-Dyson) vacuums.

I still like crafting now and then, but I’ve found my creative outlet to be more in the kitchen now. The same details that I used to apply (or attempt to apply) to my beautifully embroidered, hand stitched cube shaped pillows now go into my cooking. And in being someone who appreciates building my recipes from the ground (and I mean ground) up, I find joy in baking the bread for the croutons, making the  sauce for the spaghetti, or (in this case) creating the wrap for the sandwich. While there is certainly nothing wrong with purchasing these items, I like doing it on my own from time to time… just because.

Make your own spinach wraps.

And don’t let your daughters vacuum after creating seed bead necklaces. It doesn’t end well.

And yes, I did hand sew several ‘cube’ shaped pillows in my youth. Perhaps you were lucky enough to have received one as a gift. And no, they didn’t look like cubes… or pillows… at all.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Spinach Wraps
Source: Annie’s Eats
Printable Recipe

3C white whole wheat flour (or 50:50 blend of whole wheat and all purpose)
2tsp baking powder
1tsp salt
1/2C chopped frozen spinach, defrosted and drained
5T refined coconut oil
2/3 to 1C water, divided

In a food processor, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and spinach. Pulse until the spinach is well incorporated and chopped very fine.
Add in the coconut oil and pulse 4-5x just until the mixture is crumbly.
Slowly add in the water (starting with just 2/3C) with the food processor running. Once the mixture forms into a ball (you may need to add up to an additional 1/3C), turn it off and remove the dough.
Transfer to lightly floured surface. Knead for 30 seconds.
Divide into 8-10 even pieces. I used my measuring scale so that I knew I had accurate portions. Roll each piece into a ball. Cover with a clean dish towel and let rest for 10 minutes.
Preheat a clean skillet over medium heat.
Once the dough has rested, roll each ball into a thin circle (hint: don’t be like me and make your circles bigger than your skillet!).
Place wrap directly onto heated skillet. Cook for about 20 seconds per side until they are lightly browned on each side.
Transfer to a plate to cool. Repeat with the remaining dough.
As you continue the process with each wrap, stack the cooked ones on top of each other. This will keep them soft and pliable.
Store leftovers in the fridge (or freezer!).
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

