Candles

Fall may be equivalent to pumpkin spice lattes and falling leaves for most, but for me it represents a change in candle scents.

Candles. Candles. Candles.

Have I mentioned I love candles? I do. Rarely is there a day that I don’t have a selection of fragrant candles perfuming my life… and fall is simply the best candle season. Pumpkin! Cinnamon! Apple! Spice! and eeeevvveerrrrything nice! Not to mention the weather is finally chilly enough to warrant candle burning. I know that candles don’t actually warm up a room, but a good scent can certainly make a room feel cozy.

I love candles so much that I actually live my life in the ‘burning the candle at both ends’ fashion to not only maximize my days and my stress level, but also maximize my use of candles.

Burn baby burn.

This has been a really boring post, but it’s 10am on a Sunday morning and I’m only like 8 cups of coffee into my day. Blame it on the coffee.

File the following recipe under my ‘things I didn’t know go together, but should totally go together’ category. Tahini is the overpriced jar in my fridge that I buy because of my hummus addiction. I’ve used a spoonful for a dressing for falafel, but aside from that, I didn’t really think it had a lot of other uses. Now, it’s the overpriced jar in my fridge for warm butternut squash and chickpea salad that I sometimes use in hummus. Folks, my life has been changed forever.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Warm Butternut Squash and Chickpea Salad with Tahini Dressing
Source: Casa Moro via Smitten Kitchen 
Printable Recipe

1 medium butternut squash (~2lbs), peeled, seeded, and cut into 1 1/2″ pieces
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2tsp ground allspice
2T olive oil
salt
1 (15oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/4 of a medium red onion, finely chopped
1/4C coarsely chopped parsley
Dressing:
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4C fresh squeezed lemon juice
3T tahini
2T (+ more) water
1T olive oil

Preheat oven to 425.
Combine cubed squash, garlic, allspice, olive oil and a pinch of salt. Toss to coat.
Place on a baking sheet and roast at 425 for 25 minutes, until soft. Stir once or twice to ensure an even cook. Remove from oven and set aside.
While the squash bakes, make the dressing. Combine garlic, lemon juice, tahini, and oil. Whisk together. Thin with water. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.
Once the squash is cooked, combine warm squash, chickpeas, onion and parsley. Toss with dressing and serve.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Candles

Leave a Reply

