Granola Bars 4 Life

If granola bars and I were Facebook friends, our relationship status would say ‘it’s complicated.’

It is.

I love me some granola bars and I eat them far too often. I try to choose healthier-ish granola bars; however, I am keenly aware that granola bars are candy bars in disguise. Delicious candy bars that I can eat for breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch, after-lunch snack, pre-dinner snack, dinner, post-dinner snack, and pre-bedtime snack. I think you see the problem.

So, I cut them out of my life a few weeks ago. Cold turkey. Sayonara. Adios. Auf wiedersehen.

It’s been hard and I have missed them terribly.

But, I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy anymore granola bars. (at least not this month)

I didn’t promise myself that I wouldn’t make them from time to time.

Enter this recipe.

I’m not going to say this recipe is 100% healthy or good for you or a perfect replacement for the store-bought ones that aren’t in my pantry any more… but they are sooooo good and soooo easy and I think they are a lot wiser of a choice than many of the varieties at the store. I’m still going to skip past my beloved box of bars in the grocery store aisle, but I think this recipe will be a good sub when I decide it’s time for a little granola bar.

Granola bars for life.

FotoFlexer_Photo

5-Ingredient Granola Bars
Source: Minimalist Baker
Printable Recipe

1C dates, pitted *
1/4C honey or maple syrup
1/2C salted nut butter (peanut or almond)
1C roasted unsalted almonds, roughly chopped
1 1/2C old-fashioned oats (toasted in oven if desired)
Optional: 1tsp cinnamon

Place dates in food processor and run until they roll into a ball.
In a bowl, combine oats, almonds, and dates (and cinnamon if using).
Combine honey and almond butter (or peanut butter) in a microwave safe bowl. Heat for 30 seconds.
Pour heated honey-nutbutter mixture over the oat mixture. Stir until ingredients are evenly distributed.
Transfer mixture to 8×8″ dish that has been lined with parchment paper. Press mixture down and cover with plastic wrap.
Place in fridge until set, about 1 hour.
Remove and cut into slices. Serve. Store leftovers in fridge (or freezer).
Enjoy!

 

*I’ve substituted dried prunes and apricots for dates

Leave a Reply

