That Time I Put Soap in my Coffee

I’ve been avoiding lavender in the grocery store for a long time. I see it hanging out by the other herbs, and I shudder. I can’t wrap my head around eating something that reminds me of soap. Isn’t eating soap punishment?

I was recently encouraged to jump on board the honey-lavendar bandwagon by making this coffee.  It’s lavender-infused honey  that is drizzled into your favorite iced coffee and topped with your choice of creamer or milk. I can assure it that it doesn’t taste like soap, which is good.

Soap in my mouth = punishment.

Lavender honey iced coffee in my mouth = heaven.

FotoFlexer_Photo

 

Honey-Lavender Coffee
Printable Recipe

1-2T lavender-honey syrup (recipe below)
1/2C cold brew coffee (or strong coffee)
1/3C milk or creamer of choice
ice

Stir lavender syrup into coffee and milk.
Pour mixture over ice.
Enjoy!

Honey-Lavender Syrup
1 1/2T fresh lavender (if dried, only use 1tsp)
1/2C sugar
1/2C water
1/2C local honey

Combine ingredients into a small saucepan over low heat. Bring to a low simmer.
Simmer for 5 minutes until the sugar has dissolves and the syrup coats the back of the spoon.
Remove from heat and let cool. Remove the lavender.

Leave a Reply

