Fe Fi Fo Fum Falafel

One of the best things about visiting my family is trying new recipes and eating together. My mom’s kitchen will always be one of my favorite spots on earth — it’s full of fresh produce (three cheers for Costco memberships!), hungry people, and best of all – my mom! The two of us love experimenting together in the kitchen and I have 3 brothers who will eat just about anything. It’s the ideal situation. Plus, the dog likes sitting below my feet while I am cooking making sure to catch any scraps that I would otherwise have to sweep up when I am finished. I spent all of last week hanging with my family and I have quite a few successful dishes to share.

Falafel. Whenever I hear the word ‘falafel,’ I think of this song that my brothers and I would sing as kids. We had a fancy Fisher Price plastic record player with an assortment of shall-i-say-amazing kids records. There was one in particular that featured a song from “Jack and the Giant Bean Stalk,” and it was the best. There was a little sliding button on the front of the record player that allowed you to slow down or speed up the song, and frankly nothing is more hilarious to a bunch of little kids then when a singer suddenly has a low monotone voice or a squeaky mouse voice. When kids love something, they repeat it. And repeat it, we did. ‘Feee-fiiii-foooo-fummmm…. feee-fiiii-fooooo-fuuuumm’ could be heard echoing through the walls of our house for hours at a time. My poor, poor parents must’ve really disliked that song and/or were somehow involved when the record player finally broke.

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 10.20.43 PM

Feee-fiii-foooo-fuuuummmm = Falafel in my head… or something like that.  I hope this is making sense to at least one reader out there. Otherwise, I’m just going to sound like a weird, rambling, giant-bean-stalk loving individual.

This recipe was really tasty. We ate it up so fast I hardly got a good picture. We really enjoyed the lemon-tahini sauce, but all agreed that a yogurt-cucumber-tatziki sauce may be even better. We topped our falafel pita sandwiches with lemony sauce, crunchy cucumbers, lettuce, and the smallest baby tomatoes fresh from my mom’s garden. I can’t wait to make this recipe again and again and again and again.

Fee-fii-foo-fumm.

falafel.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Baked Falafel
Source: Tasty Kitchen
Printable Recipe

2 (15oz) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3T flour
3T parsley, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2tsp cumin
2tsp coriander
1tsp chili powder
1/2tsp salt
pinch of black pepper
1 tomato, chopped
1 cucumber, chopped
lettuce
pita bread (whole wheat or plain)

Lemon Tahini Sauce
4T tahini paste
3-4T fresh squeezed lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spritz with no-stick spray.
In a food processor, combine chickpeas, flour, parsley, cumin, coriander, chili powder, salt, and pepper. Pulse until blended.
Form into small patties using about 2T of mixture at a times (patties should be about 1″ wide and 1″ thick).
Place onto prepped baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, turning once halfway through cooking.
While patties are cooking, stir together tahini and lemon juice. Taste and add salt if needed.
To assemble: place a few of the chickpea falafel into a pita with toppings of choice and a drizzle of the tahini dressing.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

