You may have noticed that lately my food blog is turning into a dessert blog. I’d apologize, but first I must ask, ‘Why are you complaining?’  I eat a lot of randomness, but lately I’ve been repeating a few of my fav main courses so I’m left with the desserts to share. Yum. Yum.

You may have also noticed I’m posting less and less and less lately. There was work, a vacation, and a wedding (not mine!) followed by a whole slew of summer randomness that kept me from blogging (and cooking quite frankly). If you guys want to me to post about how delish Panera bagels taste on vacation after a long Segway tour, I can do it. Lemmeknow.

I’m sitting outside right now and really struggling to find any words worth typing …. mostly because there is a bird saying something very loudly in bird-language about 5 feet from my patio. It sounds a little like he or she might be giving birth, yelling at his/her significant other, or simply having a meltdown. I can’t really translate the exact meaning, but it’s insanely loud and distracting. Chirp. Chirrrrrp. Case in point, I’ve got to be done typing now before I throw something at that bird. I am not a bird murderer. I am not a bird murderer. I am not a bird murderer.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Vegan Beach Cookies
Source:  Chloe Coscarelli 
Printable Recipe

1/2C vegan margarine (i.e. earth balance)
2C vegan graham cracker cumbs (i.e. Health Valley Graham Crackers)
1C canned coconut milk
1/4C agave
1tsp vanilla extract
1/4tsp salt
2T cornstarch
1 1/2C shredded coconut
2C vegan chocolate chips (i.e. Ghirardelli or nondairy brand of choice)
1/2C walnuts (optional!)

Preheat oven to 350. In a baking dish (9×13), pour melted margarine. Sprinkle graham crackers over top patting down slightly to coat pan.
In a bowl, combine coconut milk, agave, vanilla, salt, and cornstarch. Pour over top the graham cracker mixture.
Over the top of the coconut-milk mixture, sprinkle the coconut, chocolate chips, and walnuts (optional!). Pat down slightly.
Bake for 25-20 minutes until edges are slightly browned and bubbly.
Let cool completely and refrigerate.
Cut and serve! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

