Gurkensalat

Have you been watching that little soccer futbol tourney going on overseas? I’ve been glued to the TV.

I could write a full page regarding all of the drama… amazing feats of athleticism… that one guy with the biting problem… bad referees… good referees… announcers yelling ‘gooooool’ … kyle beckerman’s hair… Ronaldo’s hair… Neymar’s hair…

I’m sad all of the excitement is coming to an end soon, but I suppose those guys must be getting hot and tired from playing all that soccer in the jungle.

I suppose I could claim this salad is cool and refreshing, and that’s why I just rambled on about the World Cup. Or I could tell you this salad is German, and the German soccer team is maybe, possibly, supposedly going to win the whole World Cup. Or it’s because I love saying the name ‘schweinsteiger,’ and I love saying ‘gurkensalat’ just as much. Or I could just tell you that I love a good ramble before I post a recipe.

It’s the latter.

Goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool!

FotoFlexer_Photo

Gurkensalat
Source: About.com
Printable Recipe

2 large cucumbers
1/2 yellow onion
6T white vinegar
1T sugar
kosher salt
2 stalk fresh dill

Slice cucumbers very thin (recommend using a mandolin if you have it).
Slice onion very thin.
In a large bowl, combine cucumbers and onion. Sprinkle with salt (about 1 to 2 tsp). Set on counter for about 30-45 minutes. Toss the mixture a few times while it is resting.
Drain all of the excess water out of the mixture. Rinse with cold water to get extra salt off. Pat dry with paper towel.
Add in white vinegar, sugar, and dill.
Taste and adjust seasonings. Add extra salt if needed.
Allow to marinate in the fridge for at least an hour before serving.

Leave a Reply

