Knife Shopping. Knife Chopping.

DSC_0749

Knife shopping is way weird. Have ya done it?

First off, it is intense. When you start researching knives you quickly realize that there is a lot to know and it’s not the kinda stuff they taught you in high school. You’ve got the blade (duh!), the handle (still with you!), the heel (like on my foot?), the bolster (officially lost!), and the tang (???).  The kind lady at the store started referencing these parts and I simply nodded. “Oh yah, that is a nice tang indeed,” I kindly replied as she pointed.

Just when you think you are starting to be knowledgeable, they start telling you about the 36 million different materials used to make these knives. “Of course I was thinking about carbon steel or stainless steel,” I stated.

If the material types don’t have you confused enough, then all of the various brand names will certainly confuse you. “I would like the Lamborghini of knives please,” I explained.

Next, they tell you all about the edge — and the edge is important. At this point, they open the locked knife case and let you take a test drive . And by test drive, I mean chop up a bunch of potatoes. You will realize that the double grind V-shaped edge has a different feel then the convex edge, which seems different then the hollow-ground. “Ahh yes, I see the difference now,” I declared as I attempted to maintain my focus and not chop off a fingertip.

Lastly, they’re going to remind you that the Germans make knives one way while the Japanese prefer to make them this way and the French make them in a different style. You are still chopping potatoes. I guess you are making a really bland hash because the amount of potatoes you’ve now sliced and diced is outrageous, but you are trying to make a big purchase. The kind that requires a lot of shopping  chopping. And just when you commit to a knife, they throw a wrench (or should I say knife) into the situation by telling you that some companies have gotten smart and combined a bit of each style into their design.

And suddenly, you are overwhelmed and scared in a room full of knives.

You chop a few more potatoes.

You look at the prices.

You commit.

Like I said, knife shopping is a big ordeal.

I love my new knife. I didn’t realize how sad and dull my old knife was until I took the plunge and bought a super fancy knife. I slice better. I dice better. I cut better. I even chiffanode better. I still own all 10 fingers, too!

It’s all in the tang. And the heel. Oh, and the bolster.

Food time!

FotoFlexer_Photo

Roasted Cauliflower & Chickpea Quinoa Salad with Jalapeño-Lime Dressing
Source: The Roasted Root via Amuse Your Bouche
Printable Recipe

1 head of cauliflower, chopped
1 (14oz) can chickpeas, rinsed
3T olive oil
2tsp garlic powder
2tsp cumin
1.5C uncooked quinoa
1/2C slivered almonds (roasted if desired)
1/2C parsley, chopped

2 jalapeños, seeded and chopped
2 limes, zest and juice
1T vinegar
2T olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 green onions, chopped
1tsp kosher salt

Leave a Reply

