Brown Sugar Toffee Cookies

I just finished reading a book and I’m left with that ‘a part of me is gone forever’ feeling that you sometimes get when you’ve the spent a good few days immersed in a book. It doesn’t help that I stayed up all night ( no joke) reading it. I’m tired, sad, and book-less. Worst of all, the book ended in a way that has left me needing to tell everyone and anyone about it.  I wandered around town today doing errands and telling everyone who would listen all about this book. Do me favor and read Gone Girl. When you are done, email me. I need to talk about it with someone.

Let us now smoothly transition to cookies.

Cookies.

Cookies.

I ❤ Cookies.

FotoFlexer_Photo

I’m always looking for another fab recipe to add to my cookie armamentarium and this recipe is a keeper. I even convinced my toffee-hating roommate to try a few … and she was sold too. These are chewy and flavorful and buttery and toffee–esque and soft and everything a cookie should be. As a self-proclaimed cookie aficionado, I endorse these cookies wholeheartedly.

Brown Sugar Toffee Cookies
Source: Imperial Sugar (Handle the Heat Original)
Printable Recipe

2C all-purpose flour
1/2tsp baking poder
1/2tsp baking soda
1/4tsp salt
1tsp cornstarch
1/2tsp cinnamon
1/2C unsalted butter, room temperature
2oz cream cheese, room temperature
1C dark brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1tsp vanilla extract
1 (8oz) package toffee bits

Line baking sheet with parchment.
Preheat oven to 350.
Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cornstarch and cinnamon in a bowl.
In a different bowl, beat butter and cream cheese. Add sugar and beat until combined and flurry. Add egg and vanilla. Beat until combined. Stir in toffee pieces.
Combine wet ingredients to flour mixture.
Use medium sized cookie scoop to portion dough onto lined baking sheets leaving about 2 inches between. Flatten each dough ball slightly with hand or cup.
Bake for 10-11 minutes at 350. Remove from oven and allow to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes.
Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.
Store leftovers in air-tight container.

Leave a Reply

