Bread You Knead to Make.

I shopped.

I mixed.

I kneaded.

I waited.

I kneaded again.

I waited again.

I preheated.

I shaped.

I baked.

I wafted and wanted.

I cooled.

I smelled.

I smelled.

I smelled.

I ate.

I savored.

Some things in life are worth a little work.

You KNEAD this bread in your life.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Multigrain Bread
Source: Cooks Illustrated via Our Best Bites
Printable Recipe

1 1/4C seven grain hot cereal mix
2 1/2C boiling water
3C all-purpose flour
1 1/2C whole wheat flour
1/4C honey
4T buter, melted and cooled
2 1/2tsp instant or rapid-rise yeast
1T salt
optional: 1/2C old-fashioned oats

In a bowl, combine boiling water and cereal mix. Let sit for about 1 hour, until mixture reaches 100.
In a different bowl, combine flours.
Once the cereal mixture is around 100, add honey, butter, and yeast. Mix to combine.
Begin adding flour about 1/2C at a time. Knead (by hand or using dough hook/mixture) until a ball starts to warm. Add in salt.
Transfer dough to lightly floured surface and continue kneading. (Note: the book says about 20-25 minutes, but I didn’t knead for that long and it turned out)
Transfer dough to a lightly greased bowl. Cover with plastic and let rise until nearly doubled, about 1 hour.
Put doubled dough back onto floured counter. Divide in half. Roll each dough into a cylinder. Turn loaf seem side up and pinch it closed. Spray each loaf with a bit of water or vegetable spray and roll in the old-fashioned oats. Place each loaf into a greased 9×5 loaf pans. Cover with plastic and let rise until nearly doubled, about 40 minutes.
Preheat oven to 375 (while dough is rising).
Bake at 375 for 35 minutes (or until a thermometer reaches 200 degrees).
Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.
Remove from pan and let cool completely before slicing and serving.

Leave a Reply

