Pancakes

DSC_0577

Today I accidentally threw my grocery list in the mailbox at the post office. It turns out that my electric bill does little to assist me in remembering what items I am supposed to be purchasing at the grocery store. My apologies if you receive my lengthy and poorly written grocery list in your mail over the next few days.  If you could let me know what I forgot to buy, I’d be forever grateful.

Pancakes are on the menu for today (and quite possibly the next day and the next day after that). Pancakes are my achilles heel. Too oily. Too firm. Too bitter. Too bland. Too dry. Too. Too. Too. Don’t even get me started on the shapes I manage to create when aiming for a simple circle. I’m not a huge pancake lover, but on occasion, I crave a good pancake. I’m always looking for a recipe to be my go-t0, and I think this one will be it for now. It’s fluffy and flavorful …. and easy. I drenched them in syrupy goodness and berries and all sorts of other extras, but they are tasty enough to be eaten on their own. And if you don’t trust me, there are 5,982 people on allrecipes.com who will back me up on this. The proof is in the pudding… errr… the pancake.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Fluffy Pancakes
Source: AllRecipes.com
Printable Recipe

3/4C milk (skim will work)
2T white vinegar (ok to sub apple cider vinegar)
1C AP flour
2T sugar
1tsp baking powder
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp salt
1 egg
2T butter, melted and cooled slightly
no-stick spray

In a small bowl, combine vinegar and milk. Set aside for 5 minutes.
In a different bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a different bowl, combine egg, melted butter, and milk.
Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Whisk until just combined.
Heat skillet over medium heat. Coat with cooking spray. Drop 1/4C of batter onto heated surface. Flip once bubbles appear on the surface of the pancakes. Cook until browned on the other side.
Repeat with remaining batter.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

