Quinoa Gossiping

I don’t really want every to talk about my acquaintances/friends/coworkers on the blog because that feels like a recipe for disaster. (Is that a pun? It might be.)

But…. the other day I heard a lovely person I know say ‘quinoa’ pronounced as ‘keyyyyrrrnow.’ There was at least one ‘r’ in there and a whole slew of other vowels that I was fairly sure didn’t belong.  She said it with a level of authority that made me think she really knew what she was saying and for a few minutes, I wondered if it was possible that I was the one mispronouncing it all along.

Let’s research. And by research, I mean I will check wikipedia for the answer. The day wikipedia lets me down is going to be a sad, sad day. I use it nearly 100% of the time and trust it as a credible source all too often. (I just checked to see if wikipedia had a wikipedia article about wikipedia – they do and they say they are credible – phew!)

Fastforward about 25 minutes thanks to a lengthy quinoa article and a quick stop to see if Kimye tied the knot yet and it turns out that there is a lot of information about quinoa on wikipedia . I know have a lot of useless facts about the subject stored deep in my brain. Also, Kim and Kanye aren’t married yet. (Update: I didn’t get this post finished fast enough and they are now married)

And then I found this: youtube pronunciation help. Pure gold. There is no ‘r’ in quinoa. Confirmed.

Enough of all this quinoa gossip – let’s talk about the recipe that has me rambling on and on like this. It’s a simple dish that could easily make for a quick one-pot supper on those nights where your heart, stomach, and mind are all in different places. You know? When you are staaarvvviiinng, but your body just really wants to faceplant into the couch and fall asleep for 15 hours. This is the meal for those nights. It’s as simple as dicing a few veggies, opening a few cans, and adding a cup of quinoa … a stir or two… a quick 25 minute snooze on the sofa… and voila! Dinner is served. Although it doesn’t matter what type of quinoa you use to make this, I would suggest a lighter (or plain color) variety based on my own trial (see pictures below). I have a feeling the golden variety would be a little more appetizing in pictures.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Mexican Quinoa
Source: Annie’s Eats via Tracey’s Culinary Adventure
Printable Recipe

1T olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 jalapeños, seeded and diced fine
1C quinoa, rinsed and drained
1 1/4C veggie broth
1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (14oz) can diced tomatoes
1C frozen corn
1/2tsp salt
1/3C chopped cilantro
juice of 1 lime

In a medium pot, heat oil over medium heat. Saute garlic and jalapeños until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add in quinoa and cook for 30 seconds. Stir in broth, drained beans, tomatoes (with juice!), corn, and salt.
Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce to simmer and cover. Cook for about 25 minutes, until the liquid is absorbed. Fluff with a fork. Remove from heat.
Add in cilantro and lime juice. Adjust seasonings.
Top with sour cream (or greek yogurt), cheese, scallions, chips, salsa, avocado, more cilantro, etc.

Leave a Reply

