On the Frequency in Which I Attempt to Steal Cars

It has happened twice the other day and I’m starting to feel guilty. I go to run a quick errand  – any errand really: the grocery store, the post office, the mall, etc. As I hustle out the door of (insert location of choice), I spot my nondescript 2012 silver car. I click my clicker (that sounds dumb) and I swear I hear the faint noise that suggests my car door is now opened. I peer into the window and think ‘hmmm, I don’t remember having that pink fuzzy steering wheel cover, those ugly dice, or that child sized car seat in the back (or a child for that matter).’ My hands are moving far faster than my mind so I attempt to open the door …. like 12 times. Rejected.  Oh, it’s not my car. I hit the clicker again and realize my 2012 silver car (without pink wheel cover, child seat and dice) is located a few rows down. Ahhh, yes. Now it all makes sense.

This is my new daily routine.

Shakes head.

It turns out that everyone in the world has purchased a silver Chevy Cruze and I no longer can identify my own car. No less than 3 times in the past week have I attempted (unsuccessfully) to steal anther persons car and it’s getting old. I’m thinking about painting my car pink or adding a racing stripe so that I can resolve this issue. I’ve yet to attempt a steal in front of the actual owner, but I know that day will come soon.

Shakes head again.

If you or someone you know is capable of car detailing, send me a message.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Chili-Glazed Tofu over Asparagus & Rice
Source: CookingLight
Printable Recipe

1C brown rice (or 2C cooked prepared rice)
2C asparagus, chopped into 1″ pieces (~1lb)
3/4C shredded carrot
1T sesame oil
2T peanut oil
2T sugar
4T rice wine vinegar
4T low-sodium soy sauce
2tsp minced ginger
1T hot chili sauce with garlic (such as KA-ME)*  (more if you like it spicy – I added 2T)
1 (14oz) package extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed
salt, pepper

Cook rice according to package directions and set aside.
Preheat oven to 400. Toss asparagus in 1T of peanut oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place on baking sheet and roast for 10-15 minutes until tender. Remove from oven.
Combine rice, carrot, and asparagus. Make sure to combine the rice to the asparagus when it is still hot – this will soften and cook the carrot slightly. If you are using leftover rice, you may want to sauté the carrot for a few seconds prior to adding it to the rice mixture. Add 1T of sesame oil and a dash of salt and pepper. Stir to combine and set aside.
Heat remaining 1T of peanut oil over a large skillet on medium-high heat.
In a bowl,whisk sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, ginger, salt, and pepper. Set aside.
Slice tofu into 1/4″  x 1/2″ slices (or desired size – any will work).
Once peanut oil is hot, add tofu. Cook, stirring frequently, until browned on all sides, about 5-7 minutes.
Once tofu is browned, reduce heat slightly and add soy sauce mixture. Cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Once sauce is slightly reduced/thickened, remove from heat.
Serve tofu over rice mixture. Top with remaining sauce.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

