Pina Colada Popsicles

I just had a fantastic rainy run and I’m now typing at the speed of light thanks to all the endorphins surging through me (and/or the cup of coffee I’m chugging right now).  Please excuse the spelling errors as I’m typing too fast to really detect or fix the errors I’m making. Sorry in advance.

IMG_2265

I had the pleasure of kayaking through the mangroves of Florida last week and I still miss the sand and beautiful sunsets. Despite my exhaustive search, I didn’t see a single mermaid, manatee, or dolphin. I take it as a sign of my need to return… soon. In the meantime, I’m making foods that remind me of the beach, the sand, and the sun. Pina colada popsicles? Yah, that’ll do.

If you like pina coladas, you will like these popsicles. If you read the first part of that sentence and didn’t immediately start dancing around and singing the remainder of that song than you are stronger than me and/or less hopped up on post-rainy-run endorphins. These popsicles are a bit like sunshine in frozen form – coconut milk, pineapple, rum, vanilla, banana – oh boy.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Pina Colada Popsicles
Source: Native Foods
Printable Recipe

1 banana
1C fresh pineapple
1 (14oz) can lite coconut milk
2T rum (or 1/2tsp rum extract)*
1tsp vanilla extract
3T agave nectar
1 1/2T unsweetened shredded coconut*

Place banana, pineapple, coconut milk, rum, vanilla, and agave in a food processor. Blend until smooth.
Stir in unsweetened coconut (optional).
Pour into popsicle molds and freeze until solid.
Enjoy!
*optional ingredients

Leave a Reply

