Road Trip Blogging

Mark this post as the first time I have ever blogged on a road trip. Also, it’s the first time I’ve ever blogged from my phone AND the first time I’ve ever blogged while in a moving car. It’s an overwhelming number of  firsts. (Mom, this should probably go in that scrapbook of all the important moments of my life I’m pretty sure you have been making for me 🙂 )

Normally at this time of year, I’m yapping about how OMG-amazing asparagus tastes and holy-cow green veggies are like oh-wow-oh-wow so great and Peter Cottontail’s little carrots are so sweet they taste like candy, but not this year. My feet are still donning winter shoes, my arms still cloaked in heavy sweater material, and my vitamin D deficiency is only being treated by pills. I’m fairly certain the sun slipped behind a cloud a few weeks back and never bothered to come out. Mother Nature, I’m looking/scowling at you. I’m needing some springtime warmth to convince me that soups are out and salads are in.

In the meantime, I’ll be eating this pasta… at least I will once I get home… in about 1000 more looooong miles and 36 more bathroom breaks.

Sent from my iPhone

FotoFlexer_Photo

 

Southwest Pasta with Poblano Cream Sauce
Source: Cook Like a Champion
Printable Recipe 

1/2lb pasta (bowtie or other)
1T olive oil
1 shallot, minced
1C black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2C frozen corn kernels, thawed and drained
1 (10oz) can diced tomatoes with chilies
2 poblanos, roasted with skins/seeds removed
1/2C half-and-half
1/4C Monterey Jack cheese
fresh cilantro, chopped (to garnish)

Cook pasta according to package directions. Reserve 1/2C pasta water during the cooking process.
Heat olive oil over large sauté pan. Add shallot and cook until soft and translucent, about 3 minutes. Add black beans, corn, tomatoes (with juice), and 1 poblano (chopped). Cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring to combine. Once ingredients are heated through, transfer to a bowl and set aside.
Add remaining poblano to the skillet. Add in half-and-half. Bring to a simmer while continuing to stir. Once cream has thickened a bit, remove from heat. Transfer ingredients to blender (or use immersion blender). Puree.
Pour sauce back into sauté pan. Add in cheese and stir until combined.
Add noodles and veggie mixture to sauce. Stir to combine. Thin with a few tablespoons of the reserved pasta water if it is too thick. Garnish with cilantro and additional cheese.
Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

