Brown Sugar Cookies

I’ve been reading 12 books lately. No joke- 12 books at once. When I go to the library, I have major control issues (same problem at Target). I see one book, and another, and another, and another… and I forget that I barely have time to read one book let alone 62. But low and behold, my library card was free and loves to be used, so I’m stuck with a stack of books that is nearly as tall as me. I only have three weeks to read all of these books. Eeek!

Worst of all, I was so excited about every book I checked out that I immediately read the first few pages of each of them. I’ve been reading and reading and reading. Unfortunately, I’ve got my stories all mixed up, jumbled, and backwards. I can’t keep the characters or the story lines straight. I don’t even know what pages I’m supposed to be on anymore. It’s a literary mess. This is the exact reason I should never join a book club. I’m bad at reading one book at a time and even worse at finishing any one book ever. There is a reason I studied science in college.

Amidst the 50+ books I am currently reading, I picked up a few in the 100 section. For those who are not familiar with the library dewey decimal system, that’s the area on psychology and philosophy. No, I’m not reading Aristotle nor is this some dramatic call for help. I was attracted to a few colorful, artsy book covers.  Did I mention I judge books by there covers alone? I do. One of the books claims to be a project on discovering happiness, which sounded intriguing, plus the cover was a nice shade of blue with good font choices. Win-win. Unfortunately, the author hasn’t written anything I’ve found to be all that enlightening. It’s a lot of ‘do what you love’ and ‘smile more’ and ‘get more sleep.’ And I’m like ‘I do what I love most days’ and ‘I’m smiling right now’ and ‘I don’t have time to sleep because of all these books I’m trying to finish reading.’ But, I found a quote I did like so I’m sharing it with you:

“One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy. One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.”

I translated this to mean that I should bake cookies. I like making and eating cookies, and other people like eating and receiving cookies; therefore, the key to my happiness is cookies.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Brown Sugar Cookies
Source: Pinch of Yum
Printable Recipe

1/2C brown sugar
1/4C white sugar (+extra for rolling)
1/2C butter (alternate: shortening)
1 egg
1/2tsp vanilla
1C flour
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp cream of tartar

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
Beat sugar and butter until fluffy.
Add in egg and vanilla.
In a separate bowl, combine flou, salt, baking soda, and cream of tarter.
Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, beating until incorporated.
Roll heaping tablespoons into balls. Roll in sugar and place on baking sheet that has been lined with parchment paper. Do not flatten!
Bake for 11-12 minutes, until golden brown at the edge.
Allow to cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to baking sheet to cool completely.
Store leftovers in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

