Big Easy Blogging

DSC_0246

Betcha didn’t know I was blogging to the sweet sound of some live jazz tunes in New Orleans today. It’s true. I need to snatch a beignet before I leave in order to have the full ‘New Orleans experience’ or so I’ve been told by the taxi driver who transported me from the airport to the hotel (in record time I might add).

It’s raining, but the weather is 30+ degrees warmer than it is in Illinois so I WILL NOT COMPLAIN. My hotel room faces the Mississippi River which translates to me spending most of my free time watching boats (big boats!). It also means I’ve been hearing boats (big boats!) all day and night.  On a random note, the theme song from Zatarain’s rice is not-so-conveniently stuck in my head after seeing a billboard for an advertisement. If anyone is interested in a little Zatarain’s rice theme song karaoke singing, I’m your person.

Let’s talk tangerines. This recipe is tangy, sweet, and lickety-split quick. The original recipe called for frying the tofu, which I’m sure is fantastic, but I stir-fried the tofu in my recipe and it came out perfect. I’ll let you hum and haw over these sort of choices yourself.

Why not jazz up dinner tonight?

FotoFlexer_Photo

And you will not even need a box Zatarain’s.

Tangerine Tofu with Broccoli and Red Peppers
Source: Earthbound Farm
Printable Recipe

1 (14oz) block extra firm tofu, drained and pressed
4T oil (recommend: 2T sesame oil and 2T canola oil)
1 head broccoli, cut into florets
1 red bell pepper, cored and sliced into strips
1T grated fresh ginger
1 clove garlic, mined
1/3C fresh squeezed tangerine juice
2tsp fresh tangerine zest
1/3C soy sauce (low sodium recommended)
3T sugar
1T cornstarch

Heat 1T sesame oil and 1T canola oil in a sauté pan (or wok) over medium-high heat. Once hot add tofu. Stir fry, stirring frequently, for 3-4 minutes, until browned. Remove from oil and set aside.
Add additional oil (1T sesame oil and 1T canola oil). Add in peppers and broccoli. Cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently, until broccoli is bright green and peppers slightly tender. Remove from oil and set aside.
Reduce heat to medium-low. Add garlic and ginger to pan. Stir constantly for 30seconds to 1 minute, just until fragrant. Add juice, soy sauce, and sugar. Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce to simmer. Add in a slurry of cornstarch (i.e. 1T cornstarch mixed with 1T water) while whisking. Cook until it starts to thicken. Add in zest.
Toss tofu, broccoli, and peppers with the sauce. Taste and adjust seasonings. Serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

