Quinoa for Breakfast

I’ve got one of those awful head colds (upper respiratory infections for those in the know) where I can’t taste anything. It’s a nightmarish situation. I might as well have served myself warm water and mud for breakfast because the coffee, oatmeal and banana combo I ate was just about as flavorless as food can be. I’m reading a book about finding happiness right now, so I’ve decided to take full advantage of this situation and eat up everything in my fridge that I’ve been avoiding. It’s going to be a I-better-not-instagram-this-meal kinda day. Miso paste + celery + coconut yogurt + Bartlett pears + 1 lemon + 1 red bell pepper + cauliflower = the list of things that need to be consumed promptly as they are nearing expiration. It sounds a bit like a bad episode of Chopped. Challenge accepted.

A long time ago (ok, it was like 2 days), I actually had taste buds. I ate this dish and my world was rocked. Quinoa for breakfast is an odd concept to me. A few years ago, I didn’t know quinoa from couscous from orzo from brown rice. Times have changed. Although quinoa has become a weekly staple for me, I’ve always considered it to be a savory, nighttime thing. Breakfast? I’ll be honest. It took me a little while to come around to this idea and the first few bites did little to allay my concerns. But I kept eating and eating… and eventually I was all ‘everyone should eat quinoa for breakfast.’ I think we can all get behind something that is sweet, nutty, crunchy, berry-y, and cinnamon-ny for breakfast. Yes, sir.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa
Source: Chef MD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine via 101 Cookbooks
Printable Recipes

1C milk (1%, skim, or non-dairy)
1C water
1C uncooked quinoa, rinsed
2C blackberries, rinsed
1tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
1/3C pecans, toasted
agave (~1tsp per serving depending on desired level of sweetness)

In a saucepan, combine milk, water, and quinoa. Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer. Cover and cook for 15 minutes, until liquid is absorbed. Turn off heat and set aside for 5 minutes.
Stir in cinnamon, nutmeg, and blackberries.
Transfer to individual bowls to serve. Top with pecans and drizzle with agave.
Store leftovers in airtight container in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

